Skip to main content

Information About Sean - Worcester tutor

Profile Picture

Sean's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sean:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Sean

Personal Description:

I am married with two sons, who have both been through the schooling system. One has just finished at university, while the other is in full time work. I was originally a banker in Cheshire but did not feel at all fulfilled. I then decided to change course and train to be a teacher, so I moved to Worcester and attended what is now the University of Worcester to do a B.Ed Maths Degree Course, where I achieved an Honours Degree. After 18 years of teaching maths and doing supply teaching, I decided to retire from teaching 6 years ago and become a teaching assistant - a role which I find very rewarding. However, I still do one-on-one teaching to special needs students in my current role and I still teach maths and study skills in my spare time outside school. I am patient and understanding. I enjoy walking, reading and visiting places of historical interest.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been in education for a total of 25 years, 18 years as a teacher of mathematics, and 7 years as a teaching assistant. I have taught all levels of ability in schools ranging from those in special measures to a high achieving local secondary school. I have also done, and still do, private one to one tuition for a number of students to GCSE level where I was recommended to their parents by word of mouth. I also have considerable experience teaching special needs students on a 1 to 1 basis, both as part of my current job and in private tutoring. I enjoy reaching out to students and helping them to understand the subject in the way they learn best.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe it is important to find out the interests and needs of the student, so that I can tailor my teaching accordingly. I like to make my teaching sessions fun and relevant, and try to apply my teaching methods to everyday life, making the subject easier to understand. Each student has a different way they relate to the subject. It is my job to find out how that student learns best, and adopt that approach to my teaching. This not only helps to form a good working relationship with the student, but also maximizes the student's confidence and ability to learn.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Worcester (1993) - Degree (Maths) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Christleton High School, Chester (1978) - A Level Maths (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Christleton High School, Chester (1976) - O Level Maths (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Christleton High School, Chester (1976) - 4 other O Levels at Grades B - C (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Worcester Maths tutor, Worcester Study Skills tutor, Worcester Primary Maths tutor, Worcester Secondary Maths tutor, Worcester GCSE Maths tutor, Worcester A-Level Maths tutor, Worcester Casual Learner Maths tutor, Worcester Secondary Study Skills tutor, Worcester GCSE Study Skills tutor, Worcester A-Level Study Skills tutor, Worcester Casual Learner Study Skills tutor