I studied for my undergraduate degree in Biomedical Materials Science at the University of Birmingham, where I gained a background in both material and biological sciences. Having this multidisciplinary background allows me to possess excellent laboratory and research skills in a broad scientific field. Following graduation, I began studying for my PhD in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Birmingham, where I continued my studies in the development of material science for medical research. I used this time to publish much of my research and gained experience of working with international collaborations.

I have been a STEM ambassador between 2008-2011; voluntarily working with schools to help develop the interest of young people in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. I have also worked with a voluntary group called Residence in Research, for whom I visited schools and met with children to educate them about the benefits of higher education; having mentored them to encourage and motivate interest in school, and giving me the opportunity to talk to young people about working towards higher education and the benefits of achieving better at a secondary education. Working in research at the time it was to help develop research skills of young people in secondary education to make them more aware of the possibilities within science and engineering. Educating them about the types of career options open to them and the types of experience and qualifications they need to achieve such ambitions.

Recently, I completed a Postgraduate Certificate in Education in learning and teaching at the University of Leicester. This Specialist in Learning Difficulties (SpLD) course is specifically developed to support my students by primarily working on mentoring students with dyslexia and learning difficulties, and also coaching students with study skills support. The course delivered specific learning aids to facilitate students to ensure students in Higher Education have the support they require to meet their goals.

Tutoring Experience

March 2012 - Currently
Science Tutor, Part Time
Removed, Oadby, Leicester
• Tutoring science and geography on one-to-one and small classes, face to face sessions.
• I meet various students of all ages between 10-25; teaching KS2 & 3, GCSE and AS/A2 level and also University level (BSc/MSc).
• Teaching also in small groups within the students’ home and at other venues.
• Preparing teaching materials of lessons, setting homework and assessments.
• Home Schooling children to ensure they achieve GCSE's in all three Sciences and Geography.

March 2012 - Currently
Specialist in Dyslexia mentor; Part Time
De Montfort University, Leicester
• Mentoring University level students during the academic year, helping them to gain essential study skills.
• Working on a one-to-one basis to ensure the students makes maximum usage of resources provided to ensure course work is at a high standard.
• Mentoring students with specific learning difficulties to ensure they can achieve their potential.

March 2012 - September 2015
Tutor/Mentor/Note Taker; Part Time
De Montfort University, Leicester
• Mentoring University level students during examination time and also helping them to time manage during final course work period.
• Working on a one to one basis to ensure the students makes maximum usage of resources provided to ensure course work is at a high standard.
• Working with students during lectures to help them take notes.

Sept 2012 - June 2013
Stratford upon Avon College, Stratford
Biology Teacher/Lecturer, Part Time
• Teaching Biology to A2 level students.
• Teaching Biology to fast track one year GCSE programme.
• Adapting learning material to suit both young developing students to aid their learning.
• Help with examination preparation and practical assessment exams; including ISAs and EMPAs.

July 2011 – March 2012
University of Birmingham, Birmingham
Examinations and Congregations Assistant
• Liaising with the various Schools to ensure all exam papers meet the deadline.
• Checking of exam papers to ensure all papers are in the correct format.
• Dealing with both Schools' and Students' enquiries related to examinations and degree congregations.

September 2010 – May 2011
Leicester College, Leicester
Biology Lecturer (Weekday: Part Time/Session Work)
• Teaching the Human Biology module to foundation degree students.
• Tailoring material to suit both young and mature student learning.
• Write the module assessment exam paper and evaluate the poster presentation for each student’s final grade.

September 2010 – July 2011
Alpha Tutorials, Leicester
Science Tutor (Weekday evenings: Part Time Work)
• Teaching a group of Key stage 3 and GCSE students on a weekly period; making notes and setting exam questions for each student according to their level.
• Teaching AS/A2 Biology, setting exam questions and aiding their individual exam board requirements.
• Facilitating all students with extra academic material for their respective study modules to enable a better understanding prior to exams.

Mar 2008 – July 2011
Direct Tuition, Leicester
Biology Tutor (Weekends/Weekday evenings: Part Time Work)
• Teaching on individual one-to-one basis; making notes, reiterating scientific concepts and setting exam questions for each student according to their personal learning abilities for GCSE and AS/A level.
• Researching different means of study to enable better teaching and enhance the students interest in science; web links, books, illustrations and animations.
Working at Beauchamp College, teaching after school classes for student who require extra help.

Tutoring Approach

My approach is tailored to the individual student, I use a variety of methods to teach and mentor each student. These include; reading and explaining subjects/topics they struggle with; asking questions to analyse whether my lessons are effective; creating work sheets; probing the student to ensure they can explain the subject/topic/concepts back to me; collating and giving exams questions to complete and correct to ensure the student has a bank of knowledge ready for the exams.

I am willing to travel to the tutees' location, as this enables a comfortable environment for the tutee to maximise learning in the comfort of their own homes. I have a variety of work books and revision books which I have been successfully using, and I welcome the use of the students own syllabus books. I am also able to suggest great online sources of revision material and send links if required.


LanguagesEnglish (British), Hindi
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


University of Birmingham2011DoctorateDoctor of Philosophy (PhD) – Awarded
University of Birmingham2006BachelorsBSc Biomedical Material Science – 2:1
University of Leicester2015OtherPostgraduate Certificate in Education

Sarika's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references