Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - Ipswich tutor

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah

Personal Description:

Hello! To help you select a tutor to best support your child's learning needs, please allow me to introduce myself. I am a qualified primary school teacher with 10 years of classroom experience. As a parent of primary school aged children myself, I can fully empathise with every parent's aspiration that their children achieve their full potential.

Whatever type of lessons you are looking for, I can offer to children aged between 7 -12 years, especially boostering in English and Maths to help children of all abilities reach their full potential. For older children who are a little behind, I can also offer tuition in the first year or so of secondary school, to help consolidate their primary school knowledge and gain confidence as they begin the KS3 curriculum.

With a proven track record in 1:1 tuition, I welcome you to get in contact to discuss possible support for your child and help them achieve their full potential.

At present I have availability on Tuesday afternoons (at the tutee's home) starting at 5.30pm and Saturday mornings (at my home in IP4) at 9.30am although this is subject to change sometimes at short notice so please do ask.

School holidays are also an ideal time for tutoring sessions, as daytime lessons can be arranged as well as after school times. This is especially beneficial in the long school summer holidays when children often experience a learning slump on return to school in September- summer sessions can help to counteract this. Summer lessons are also a great change to catch up on any gaps in the child's learning to bolster their confidence and skills ready for the new school year.

For children who are home educated, or out of school for other reasons, I am able to provide daytime lessons during term time.

Tutoring Experience:

As well as many years of experience as a class teacher in a primary school, I have had the pleasure of tutoring numerous children on a 1:1 basis over the past 10 years.

I have experience in teaching children with a range of SEN and am happy to adapt learning as necessary to cater for different needs- always in a sensitive way. I also have experience of teaching English to children for whom it is an additional language (EAL). Be assured that every child and their learning needs will be treated individually.

I find tutoring a very rewarding and enjoyable experience as children quickly gain confidence and usually make excellent progress, especially over a longer period of tuition.

Tutoring Approach:

I aim to make children feel quickly at ease with my warm, 'can-do' approach, and boost their self-esteem with lots of praise. Even very shy children quickly come out of their shells and engage fully in lessons, which is always rewarding to see.

Lessons will focus on whatever the child most needs to learn (defined by school assessments, parent concerns as well as my own assessments) and where possible I like to link in with what the child is currently learning at school. A little bit of humour directed at the child's level goes a long way to making lessons enjoyable for them, too!

Although my fees may be a little higher than some other tutors, they reflect my many years of experience and finely-honed skills, as well as the fact that I don't skimp on resources- I happily purchase workbooks and resources specifically for each child, rather than rely on odds and ends that have been printed off the internet etc. Thus you get what you pay for in some respects, especially as most parents invest in only one hour tuition time a week and naturally want it to be effective.

It is often a good idea to have a brief meeting prior to commencing proper lessons once it has been decided that we will be going ahead with them. This serves several purposes: to put a face to a name, let the child see the place where they will be studying (if at my home), as well as putting the parent's mind at rest as they can see my CRB check and evidence of teaching qualifications. I am happy to set up these short initial meetings free of charge.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of East Anglia (2007) - Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Anglia Ruskin University (2002) - Business and Law degree (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ipswich Maths tutor, Ipswich English tutor, Ipswich Primary Maths tutor, Ipswich Secondary Maths tutor, Ipswich Primary English tutor, Ipswich Secondary English tutor