Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - Buckfastleigh tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
University £20.00£19.00
Casual Learner £20.00£19.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am semi-retired, living in south Devon and my daughter and foster child have now gone to University. My experience and skills are in literacy, one-to-one and shared group reading, and creative writing. I have published poetry, short fiction, and non-fiction, and was associate editor of an international literary review magazine for 25 years. All things to do with literature, languages, writing, art and politics interest me enormously, plus going to films, gigs, the sea and the theatre.

Tutoring Experience:

I began with Adult Literacy thirty years ago and have since worked in schools, community settings, prisons, universities and privately, facilitating creative reading and writing and literature studies.I have also led process groups for psychotherapy courses and enjoy exploring interpersonal dynamics with others. Most recently I delivered special study units at Exeter and Plymouth Medical Schools and realised the need we all have for reading support and inspiration. I have also worked with people wanting access to further education, or interested in developing writing or preparing for a new job and wanting to be more employable.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to work in a person-centred way where the tutee tells me their needs and any problems so we can find a comfortable way of working together. I also like to help stretch people to increase confidence and aspiration and bring in new ideas and viewpoints. In return I expect commitment and honest feedback to help improve the learning sessions. I believe most people know, understand, and can do, far more than they think and I hope to help people become more curious, clever and creative. Working recently with vulnerable adults I saw how reading enjoyment, at any level, is really important. It creates a more interesting life whatever else you are up to. I offer short reading together or private writing time at each meeting as a boost to feeling good.

Qualifications:

  • University of Liverpool (2010) - Cert. Shared reading Facilitator (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Plymouth (2008) - Creative Writing (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Exeter (1996) - Diploma in Councelling Skills and Human Relations (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University Southampton (1980) - Jt hons. English and Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Buckfastleigh English tutor, Buckfastleigh University English tutor, Buckfastleigh Casual Learner English tutor