Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - Skipton tutor

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £20.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello, my name is Sarah. I am a fully qualified ESOL teacher, with a PGCE in Adult Learning, Level 5 in ESOL and Masters in TESOL. I have been observed numerous times in formal teaching settings and have received good or outstanding feedback. More importantly I receive excellent feedback from my learners. As well as offering one to one tuition, I currently teach mixed level classes with the local council in Skipton and Harrogate, where you are able to work towards a nationally recognised qualification in English.

Tutoring Experience:

I have over 10 years experience of teaching EFL abroad and ESOL in Colleges and Universities in the UK. I first started EFL, teaching children in South Korea and loved the cultural exchange and seeing a learner grow in confidence with their language skills. I returned to the UK and completed a Masters in TESOL. Following this I taught at Huddersfield University teaching EAP and then spent 5 years teaching ESOL and Functional English at a college in Bradford. A lot of my recent experience has been with learners seeking employment so I am particularly experienced at helping you improve your work and employability skills. I also have a lot of experience teaching complete beginners, who have no English at all and can teach phonics and building a beginners vocabulary with stories and pictures.

Tutoring Approach:

The first lesson will involve a discussion about how I can meet your needs and what topics you would like to cover. I would perform a diagnostic test of your language needs to see what your strengths are and areas we need to improve. I usually teach all 4 skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening) but if you wanted to focus on certain areas that is no problem.The topics I cover are relevant, fun and engaging. I have a lot of my own materials and use a variety of teaching methods to suit different learning styles. I would correct your grammar and pronunciation and work on different areas of grammar and communication dependant on what you want and need.

Qualifications:

  • Bradford College (2013) - Level 5 ESOL (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Huddersfield University (2012) - PGCE in Adult Learning (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Leeds University (2009) - MA in TESOL (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Leeds University (2005) - Geography and Education (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Skipton English (Foreign Language) tutor, Skipton University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Skipton Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor