Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - Ryde tutor -

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Sarah offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a mother of two - my daughter is qualified as a designer and is working within the industry, my son, who is dyslexic, graduated in Creative Audio Technology and now works as a sound engineer. I have been very involved in my own children's education and have found this involvement inspirational. I am very creative and like to think 'out of the box' and use this within my own teaching. I have a great love of books of all kinds and art. I also love the outdoors and find nature truly inspirational. I have lived in Kingston for the last 30 years and have only moved to the Isle of Wight in the last year living in Ryde.

Tutoring Experience:

I gained my BA(Hons) Education degree in 2007. I have worked in four local primary schools over the last 25 years my last position I held for 11 years. I worked in KS1 and have overall 5 years experience in KS2 which I covered occasionally. I have experience of teaching all age groups within the primary sector. I have run a Year 5 Book Club which incorporated Gifted and Talented teaching I have also taught extended literacy to Year 3/4 children. I have undertaken the latest phonic training and used that with my extended knowledge of speech and language to teach phonics to Year 1 children and worked on support programmes for children who needed extra help. Outside of my school experiences I have personally tutored GCSE students with revision, planning and timetabling which they have found invaluable. My group teaching is very creative and I pride myself on my ability to listen to the students and help them find their own path of learning ie visual, aural or kinaesthetic.

Tutoring Approach:

I approach tutoring on a very personal level assessing the student to find their preferred learning style. I will also assess the student by, for example, writing a short piece of free writing to assess creativity, dictation - to assess grammatical knowledge, spelling and sentence structure and oral description to find out their creative strengths. I will also assess reading skills by using guided reading assessments. If I am tutoring an older student I would spend time initially discussing with them their own learning experiences to find out how best to support and develop their skills in preparation for examinations. I have extensive knowledge on supporting children with dyslexia and dyscalcula and have worked with autistic children and many other specific needs. My patience knows no boundaries and my humour is used extensively.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • St. Mary's College - University of Canterbury (2007) - BA(Hons) Education (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • St. Mary's College - University of Canterbury - Twickenham (2005) - Foundation Degree in Child and Youth Studies (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2000) - Specialist Teaching Assistant Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Oxford College of Home Learning (1996) - Pre-school Playgroup Association Diploma (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ryde Maths tutor, Ryde English tutor, Ryde Special Needs tutor, Ryde Primary Maths tutor, Ryde Primary English tutor, Ryde Secondary English tutor, Ryde Primary Special Needs tutor, Ryde Secondary Special Needs tutor