Skip to main content

Information About Samuel - Epsom tutor -

Profile Picture

Samuel's profile picture

References

This is how a referee rated Samuel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
University £55.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
University £55.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
University £45.00

Map Location

Map for Samuel

Personal Description:

I am a fun loving 31 year old, who worked as a professional statistician in Epsom before spending over a year teaching abroad in Japan. Following that I worked as a financial analyst in the City using maths and statistics to buy and sell securities for corporate investment

Despite my age I'm still studying and learning and it feels like it wasn't that long ago that I was taking school exams myself; you could say the pain is still fresh in my mind. I've always loved maths and physics and I want to help others succeed in the same way that I did. I'm empathetic and can easily relate to my students, understanding their strengths and weaknesses. I want to use that to help them achieve.

I offer a free introductory session where we can get together, have a chat and talk about what you want to achieve. There's no pressure and no strings attached, though in all my years experience I've never had a student not want to come back! Give me a call and we can work something out!

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a professional tutor for over 13 years now. I have supported a variety of students in driving their grades up to the highest possible standard. I have experience tutoring university students in their first two years of undergraduate studies, as well as elementary and secondary school students in Japan.

Tutoring Approach:

I have never been one for rote learning! If you want to succeed in a subject you have to nurture your understanding of it, from the base up. That is why I focus on developing my students understanding of the fundamentals underlying Maths and Physics. Once you have those the rest will follow. I do this using a set of easy to follow guidelines to solving problems, as well as various answer mapping techniques.

I make material applicable to everyday situations, thus you can gain a better understanding of WHY you are learning it. Armed with that, motivation is easy!

Fear is also something I work to overcome. What many students don't realise is that the schools and exam boards want them to succeed. They are there to give you marks, not take them away. During my lessons I have found that students can usually steam through a challenging problem, with little to no help from myself. However when asked to repeat the task on their own they are lost and intimidated. This happens a lot in exams. I aim to build their confidence, so they can perform as well in exams as they do in class.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Japanese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • The CFA Institute (2015) - Exam qualified for Chartered Financial Analyst program (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Warwick University (2009) - 1st Class BSc Honours in Mathematics from the University of Warwick (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Epsom Maths tutor, Epsom Physics tutor, Epsom Entrance Exams tutor, Epsom Secondary Maths tutor, Epsom GCSE Maths tutor, Epsom A-Level Maths tutor, Epsom University Maths tutor, Epsom Casual Learner Maths tutor, Epsom Secondary Physics tutor, Epsom GCSE Physics tutor, Epsom University Physics tutor, Epsom Casual Learner Physics tutor, Epsom University Entrance Exams tutor