Skip to main content

Information About Samuel - Leatherhead tutor -

Profile Picture

Samuel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Samuel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Samuel offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00£16.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £20.00£16.00

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00£16.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £35.00£28.00
Casual Learner £20.00£16.00

Map Location

Map for Samuel

Personal Description:

My name is Sam and I am a 27 year old with a PhD in physics from the University of Liverpool and a first class masters degree in physics from the University of Southampton. I have just finished my PhD and am currently taking a break whilst I work out my next step which means my hours are very flexible. I thoroughly enjoy learning about maths and science and find tutoring a very rewarding experience.

My PhD focused on nuclear fusion, an active area of research in physics. My expert subject knowledge in this area could be very beneficial to UCAS personal statements, allowing them to stand out from the crowd. Seeing a real world application of science can provide extra motivation for the subject. I have lots of experience in sharing my PhD project with people of all scientific abilities. I am certainty capable of sharing my work with anyone.

Throughout my PhD I wrote and used simulation codes to simulate physical experiments, in this case experiments with plasmas. I can potentially help students that are looking to get into coding/programming too.

As an advance warning I have a couple of holidays booked during my time off from the 5th- 19th of March and 8th-13th of April. I intend to have another week of holiday either this month or in February.

Tutoring Experience:

I started tutoring just after finishing my GCSE's, so I now have over 9 years experience of teaching. I taught students GCSE maths and science on a weekly basis over a period of two years while at 6th form. Since being at University and throughout my PhD I have carried on tutoring, teaching students A level and GCSE physics and maths on a weekly basis. I have a lot of experience in dealing with students of various abilities and always try and find something interesting about the subject that will appeal to my student so they have more motivation and desire to learn.

After submitting my PhD Thesis, I spent two months in a local school training to be a classroom teacher. So I have some recent experience of the classroom.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe the best way to solve a maths problem is to work through a general method. When teaching maths, I break this method down into small, simple steps and teach each part of it individually. Once I have worked through the method with the pupil and made sure they understand it I will then set some questions either from their text book/past exam papers. As the student progresses through the questions and gains confidence with the method I will cut down on the amount of hints I provide to show the student that they can do the problems by themselves. Having said this I will provide the student with all the encouragement and help they need. With maths repetition is key and so I believe setting questions for the student to do in the next couple of days by themselves is essential. It allows me to see if the student has fully understood what we covered in the previous session and is a brilliant way to improve the students confidence in their own self ability.

With science I take a part of the syllabus at a time and work through it slowly. Science is much easier to learn when the ideas and theories are well understood and not just thrown at you and so I make sure the student fully understands what I am saying before moving on. Science can often be rushed in classrooms with many ideas thrown at you all at once and it is very easy to get left behind. I always ask the student to explain things in their own words so I can understand their thought processes and work out if there are any misconceptions occurring.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Liverpool (2017) - PhD In Physics (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Southampton (2013) - I obtained a first in Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Glyn Technology School (2009) - A's at A level in Chemisty, Maths and Physics. A at AS in Biology (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Glyn Technology School (2007) - 9 further GCSE's 8 A's and a B (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Leatherhead Maths tutor, Leatherhead Physics tutor, Leatherhead Secondary Maths tutor, Leatherhead GCSE Maths tutor, Leatherhead A-Level Maths tutor, Leatherhead Casual Learner Maths tutor, Leatherhead Secondary Physics tutor, Leatherhead GCSE Physics tutor, Leatherhead A-Level Physics tutor, Leatherhead University Physics tutor, Leatherhead Casual Learner Physics tutor