Information About Samantha - Chelmsford tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Samantha's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Samantha:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Samantha (Ms)


Personal Description:

I'm a friendly, approachable person who enjoys supporting students to learn and develop their skills and confidence. Students tell me that I'm encouraging, patient, fun, supportive, organised and explain things well.
I enjoy supporting overseas students who are studying at university in the UK and can help you to develop your academic English skills, confidence and help with proof reading and preparation of university coursework, essays and assignments.
I also work with adults who live in the UK who want to improve their reading and writing skills. These may be native English speakers or people who have English as a second or additional language.

Tutoring Experience:

I have a PGCE in Adult, Higher and Further Education with a subject specialism in Adult Literacy. I've taught literacy in FE colleges and in community education and have tutored adults privately. I've taught in London, Hertford, Bolton and Stockport and have over 6 years' literacy teaching experience. My students do well in their exams and build confidence in a secure and supportive environment. I have been rated Grade 1 'Outstanding' in all my teaching inspections.
I have a RSA/Cambridge CELTA (Grade B) Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults. I have over taught academic English at Manchester Metropolitan University and ESOL in further education colleges in the UK. In addition, I've taught EFL at language schools in London and Manchester in the UK, and in Poland, China and Japan. I have over 6 years' experience teaching EFL.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to get to know students and understand how they like to learn and what learning styles don't work for them. I spend time finding out what students find easy and difficult and what their goals for learning are. We can set targets together and really focus on what you need to achieve. It's important to me that students feel comfortable and supported in their learning in order to make good progress. I will plan for our sessions based on your learning goals and mark work and go through it with you.
I am organised, experienced and have been graded 'Outstanding' in all my workplace teaching inspections.
If you're an overseas university student I can develop your academic English skills and help with course work, proofreading essays and projects etc.
If you're an English speaker but want to improve your reading and writing to get promotion at work, help your kids with their learning, or to brush up your skills before studying again or for any other reason, I can help with all of this, too.


  • University of Bolton (2005) - Adult, Higher & Further Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Bolton (2005) - Subject specialism: Adult Literacy (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Stanton School of English (2000) - CELTA (Grade B) (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chelmsford English tutor, Chelmsford English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chelmsford Study Skills tutor, Chelmsford University English tutor, Chelmsford Casual Learner English tutor, Chelmsford University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chelmsford Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chelmsford University Study Skills tutor, Chelmsford Casual Learner Study Skills tutor