Skip to main content

Information About Samantha - Ivybridge tutor -
(14 reviews)

Profile Picture

Samantha's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Samantha:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

PE / Sport Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Samantha (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I completed my teacher training (PGCE) with Outstanding and have been working as a Primary Teacher for 2 years. Having achieved a First Class Honours degree (Animal Behaviour and Welfare) at Plymouth University and a Masters degree in Ecology and Conservation at Swansea University, I went on to study for a PGCE at Marjons in Plymouth. Before teaching, I worked throughout my studies as a private tutor, in the operating theatres of Derriford hospital and as a lifeguard and swim instructor.

I enjoy being outdoors - walking, surfing and sailing and I am a qualified scuba diver. A couple of years ago I spent a month in Kruger National park and on the beautiful reefs of Mozambique with Operation Wallacea, helping with the collection of large ecological datasets which are used for assessing the effectiveness of conservation management interventions.

Having always had a passion for science, I have a lot of time and energy for people who want to learn.

Tutoring Experience:

I have enjoyed tutoring KS1, 2 and 3, GCSE and A-level students over the last 5 years. All of my students have achieved the goals they set out with, and I have received excellent feedback from them and their parents. Throughout my teacher training, I taught children age 4 - 11, spending most of my time in year 6 preparing children for SATs. I am now working in year 4, teaching 8 and 9 year olds! I also taught swimming lessons for over 6 years and have experience teaching people of all ages and abilities. Time management and organisation are important to ensure that everything is taught and revised to allow for improvement in individuals in time for exams. I am patient and understanding and communicate well with children and parents.

Throughout my education I have always been someone that people will come to for help. I find passing on my knowledge and helping someone grasp an idea very rewarding.

Tutoring Approach:

It is important from the beginning to understand what the student wants to achieve through having a tutor. A plan can then be developed to ensure that everything is covered and revised in the time available. Students can normally come up with correct answers themselves, if pushed in the right direction. This increases confidence and encourages students to find the learning experience enjoyable. There is more than one way of learning, and through my extensive experience with people, I can ensure that a student will learn in the way that suits them.

Qualifications:

  • University of Plymouth (2012) - First Class BScHons Animal Beahviour and Welfare (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Plymouth High School for Girls (2008) - A Level: Biology (A), Chemistry (A), Psychology (A) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Devonport High School for Boys (2007) - AS level: Sports Science (A) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Plymouth High School for Girls (2006) - GCSE: A*'s and A's across 10 subjects, including triple award science (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ivybridge Maths tutor, Ivybridge Chemistry tutor, Ivybridge Biology tutor, Ivybridge PE / Sport Science tutor, Ivybridge Primary Maths tutor, Ivybridge Primary Chemistry tutor, Ivybridge Secondary Chemistry tutor, Ivybridge GCSE Chemistry tutor, Ivybridge Primary Biology tutor, Ivybridge Secondary Biology tutor, Ivybridge GCSE Biology tutor, Ivybridge Primary PE / Sport Science tutor, Ivybridge Secondary PE / Sport Science tutor, Ivybridge GCSE PE / Sport Science tutor