Information About Sam - Exeter tutor -
(7 reviews)

Profile Picture

Sam's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Sam:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £27.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £27.00

Map Location

Map for Sam (Mr)


Personal Description:

I'm an experienced Mathematics Teacher and Tutor. I studied Pure Mathematics at University. I believe Maths can be fun as well as a challenge.

Tutoring Experience:

I worked full time as a school teacher for 6 years, and as a lecturer in Higher Education for a further 4. I have also worked as an Accountant and Management Consultant in both the public and private sectors. I pride myself on having an extensive understanding of the applications of Mathematics in the modern world as well as the theoretical content of today's syllabus.

Tutoring Approach:

The most important aspect of any tutoring arrangement is that the student finds a tutor they feel comfortable working with.
That's why I never ask anybody to commit to more than one lesson to start with.
One of the first things I tell all of my students is that they should never worry about making mistakes.
Mistakes can be a great way of learning.
I also tell all of my students that they should never say 'Sorry' if they get something wrong.
Getting something wrong is perfectly OK, and not something they should feel bad about.
My tutoring is always based on my assessment of an individual student's strengths and weaknesses.


  • University of Leeds (2002) - PGCE (Secondary Mathematics) (University of Leeds) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of East Anglia (Norwich) (1979) - BSc(Hons) Mathematics (First class honours, University of East Anglia) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Exeter Maths tutor, Exeter Primary Maths tutor, Exeter Secondary Maths tutor, Exeter GCSE Maths tutor, Exeter A-Level Maths tutor, Exeter Casual Learner Maths tutor