Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - North Ferriby tutor

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £42.00
A-Level £45.00
Casual Learner £45.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah

Personal Description:

Everyone calls me "Sally". I am an enthusiastic and experienced teacher, specialising in A-Level and Higher GCSE maths. I am an examiner for GCSE and ALevel. Before entering teaching I completed a Civil Engineering degree at Imperial College, becoming a Chartered Civil Engineer and working in industry for 16 years. I designed a reservoir (40 Million litres!), I managed multi-million-pound contracts, managed a Control Centre which supplied water to three million people (in London), I spent time working down sewers. If you get the chance to look out of the window of an aircraft flying out of Heathrow you can look down and see some of the large open reservoirs which I had responsibility for.
All this time I worked together with lots of other people, often managing them, and helping multi-disciplinary teams to think things through and overcome problems.
I started to provide a facilitation service to a wide range of organisations and it was then that I realised I wanted to move into teaching.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a qualified teacher (PGCE), with 17 years’ teaching experience, including seven years in a sixth form college and over ten years as Head of Maths in different schools / colleges. My classroom teaching is consistently rated as outstanding and I get excellent feedback from individual students.
I have always taught across the ability and age range – teaching A-Level classes every year; I am up to date with the new specifications for both A-Level (Maths and Further Maths), and GCSE.
I first started tutoring in 2006, and have tutored GCSE and A-Level; students from year 10 to adults; re-sits and high achievers, students at state schools, private schools, university and sixth form colleges.

Tutoring Approach:

The sheer number of topics in maths qualifications means that schools, colleges and universities have to focus on speeding through topics. For many people this doesn’t give time to develop understanding and confidence. Tutoring resolves this.
My approach is adapted to each individual student; I take the time to find out what the student understands, how they learn, and what else affects their learning and confidence. I then work with them, helping them to deepen their understanding, confidence and study skills. I also spend time as necessary on exam technique, as well as study and revision skills, and personal organisation.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • DfES (2003) - qts (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Hull (2001) - Secondary Maths PGCE (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Imperial College, London (1988) - BEng (civil engineering) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: North Ferriby Maths tutor, North Ferriby GCSE Maths tutor, North Ferriby A-Level Maths tutor, North Ferriby Casual Learner Maths tutor