Sally

Private Maths and English Tuition in Walsall

I am an English graduate of the University of Wolverhampton, where I achieved a BA (Hons) 2:i. I also studied for my teacher training at Wolverhampton, specialising in English and maths. In my spare time I am a writer, and I am currently working on several pieces of work ready for publication. I'm currently studying for an MA in Creative Writing via distance learning.

Tutoring Experience

I qualified as a teacher in 2009. I worked at Sutton Coldfield College for a year in the Basic Skills department, working with both 16-19 year olds, and also adult students. My work varied from teaching large groups to one on one support. When my training was complete, I began working for myself, teaching all ages and ability, as a personal tutor. I have worked with over 180 children both in my own and their homes. I also worked for OCR as an examiner from 2007-2009.

Tutoring Approach

I offer a student centred approach to tutoring. I complete a diagnostic assessment at the start of any course of tutoring, and then produce an Individual Learning Plan in order to best tutor the pupil. I am friendly and approachable, and ensure that students find my sessions challenging but interesting. I maintain online contact with my students at all times, and make them aware that if they ever have any problems with or questions about the work that I set, they are free to contact me. I am a firm believer that if a student finds a subject enjoyable, then they are more successful.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Open Unviersity 2016MastersCreative Writing
Wolverhampton 2009PGCEPCE literacy and maths
Wolverhampton 2008Bachelors2:i English
Barr Beacon School2002SchoolA level English maths and psychology

Sally's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism