Information About Saffron - Sowerby Bridge tutor

Profile Picture

Saffron's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Saffron:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Saffron (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am a fully qualified Teacher of Art and English. Throughout my life I have focused my studies and career to be centralised around children. Whether it was from working with children with disabilities as part of my Degree at Edinburgh University, becoming a respite carer for disabled children as part of Shared-Care scheme in West Yorkshire and/or training as a teacher, this is something I have always focused on and been passionate about.

I have been lucky enough to travel the world through my studies and work, and I use a lot of references that I have seen effectively used elsewhere in my teaching style.

Across summer I will be running 11+ preparation sessions and mocks from my home for small groups of students. These sessions will be charged at a rate of £30 (per session not hour) and will run from 9am-12pm or 12:30pm-3:30pm (please note these are group sessions and not 1:1). These are stand alone sessions and not regular weekly tutoring, but I would recommend a minimum of 5 sessions: Mon-Fri. These classes are run in my study, which is a bright and calm space, set up perfectly for students to engage in their learning.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for 10 years and it is something that inspires me daily. I specialise in working with people who have Special Educational Needs and have supported learners who have needed Additional Support for the last 8 years. This means I am trained at Primary and Secondary level for both Maths and English, and I have also been accredited to teach English as a Foreign Language.

I have led a team of people as Head of New To English in my last school and more recently have been working as an English Teacher in a mainstream school, working with students from KS1 level to GCSE.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a creative person, who likes to make teaching and learning fun and engaging. I am very patient and I understand that people learn at different speeds and in different ways- I do not believe 'one style fits all' and I try to find a method that works for each individual that I work with.

I love to read and to get lost in a story, and I encourage all my students and tutees to find books that engage them and make them want to read every day. In all my years of teaching I have found reading for pleasure to be the most successful method of raising attainment in all children; this is something I will encourage, whether it is a magazine or newspaper to a Dickens novel. Reading and enjoying what you read is very important.

I believe people learn best when they are relaxed and comfortable, so I am happy to travel to learner's homes for the sessions if this is more comfortable for the tutee.


  • Scottish TEFL (2014) - TEFL (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Huddersfield University (2007) - PGCE Secondary Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Edinburgh College of Art (2002) - BA Art and Design (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sowerby Bridge Maths tutor, Sowerby Bridge English tutor, Sowerby Bridge Entrance Exams tutor, Sowerby Bridge Primary Maths tutor, Sowerby Bridge Secondary Maths tutor, Sowerby Bridge Primary English tutor, Sowerby Bridge Secondary English tutor, Sowerby Bridge GCSE English tutor, Sowerby Bridge Primary Entrance Exams tutor