Information About Ryan - Oxford tutor -
(6 reviews)

Profile Picture

Ryan's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Ryan:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Ryan (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am currently completing a Master's in Literature at Oxford University, having recently completed my undergraduate studies, also in Literature, at Cambridge University. I still thoroughly enjoy learning and the rigorous demands of studying at postgraduate level, gaining many invaluable skills I aim to pass on to my students. Originally from New Zealand, I naturally like sheep and anything to do with Hobbits.

Tutoring Experience:

I have much experience tutoring individuals of all ages and abilities, particularly those students sitting GCSE and A-Level subjects in preparation for exams.

I also have experience running tutorials and workshops for both large and small groups, andI recently spent three weeks touring across the UK with the Cambridge Footlights running comedy and ‘Oxbridge Entrance’ workshops for secondary school students. I spent a month in Japan in 2011 teaching English to school and university students, which included integrating Shakespearean textual analysis for more fluent speakers. In addition, I ran drama workshops, incorporating both theory and practical elements of drama. I also spent seven weeks in India last year, running similar English tutorials and drama workshops for children aged five to sixteen.

Tutoring Approach:

I am committed to each individual student's needs and design lessons to fill in gaps or build on pre-existing skill-sets. I pride myself in my essay writing ability and can help improve a student's capacity to structure a persuasive argument fluently and expressively, using lateral and original thinking, regardless of subject matter. I can also help to improve a student's textual and contextual analysis both through in-depth discussion.


  • Cambridge University (2014) - Bachelor of Art (Honours) in English Literature (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Timaru Boys' High School (2010) - NCEA Scholarship English and History (School) (✔ On File)
  • Timaru Boys' High School (2010) - NCEA Level 3 (English, History, French, Chemistry, Biology, Calculus) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Trinity College, London (2010) - Associate Diploma in Performance Speech & Drama (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford English tutor, Oxford French tutor, Oxford History tutor, Oxford Primary English tutor, Oxford Secondary English tutor, Oxford GCSE English tutor, Oxford A-Level English tutor, Oxford University English tutor, Oxford Casual Learner English tutor, Oxford Primary French tutor, Oxford Secondary French tutor, Oxford GCSE French tutor, Oxford Primary History tutor, Oxford Secondary History tutor, Oxford GCSE History tutor, Oxford A-Level History tutor