Ruth

Ruth

Bedford Tutor

I am a mum of two and I have lived in the Bedford area for most of my life. I developed a love of the outdoors and travel at a young age and this led to a great love of all things geographical. I also have a keen interest in drama and music and have performed with local dramatic groups for many years. I am a lifelong learner and am never happier than when I am learning a new skill. I enjoy walking, cooking and making things as well as spending time with my family.

Tutoring Experience

I have 15 years of teaching experience in Primary and Key Stage 3 classrooms, teaching all subjects at Primary level and Maths, Geography and English at key stage 3. I have also undertaken 1:1 tutoring for many students over the course of this time, both in a school setting and as an independent tutor. In this capacity, I have helped students from year 2 to GCSE level, including students re-taking GCSE maths Post-16.

Tutoring Approach

I really enjoy tutoring and find it very rewarding to see students grow and develop in confidence. I offer 1:1 tutoring in the homes of my clients. I take a flexible approach to tutoring students, responding to their individual needs through pace, repetition and varying my teaching strategies. This means we may use online resources, books, podcasts, discussion, games and model-making to help consolidate learning. My aim is for my students to develop the ability to learn independently, to offer opportunities for discussion and review and to encourage a love for the subjects I teach.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Oxford Brooks University2003PGCEPGCE
Reading University2001BachelorsBSc Human and Physical Geography 2:1

Ruth's Feedback

Feedback
4
Published feedback
4
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Ruth
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
Casual Learner£30
Combined Science
Primary£25
Geography
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
Entrance Exams
Primary£25
Secondary£25