Skip to main content

Information About Ruqayyah - Tower Hamlets tutor -

Profile Picture

Ruqayyah's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Ruqayyah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Italian

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hola, coucou and ciao!

My name's Qayya (said 'Kay-er') and I've taught French, Spanish and Italian for five years. My mum moved to the UK from Karachi when she was one. Immersing me in Hindi with Bollywood films, Urdu when cooking and teaching me to read classical Arabic before I'd even reached nursery, it was she who nurtured my love of languages.

After living in Normandy as an au-pair, I studied at the Sorbonne in Paris and later worked as a journalist for Diario SUR in Málaga, Spain. After graduating with a first and distinction in Modern European Languages BA (Hons) from the University of Liverpool in 2015, I began tutoring privately full-time. I'm also a part-time language assistant at a secondary school in Wallasey.

From crab-spotting in a bog in Brittany to witnessing a meteor shower from the tallest peak in the Sierra Nevada, I'm grateful for the opportunities being multilingual has given me to make once in a lifetime memories - and I'd love to help you have your own amazing adventures!

BASES AND CALL-OUTS
○ The map shows my main base is in Tower Hamlets but I can also come to you for a charge of between £1 and £4, depending on your location - send your postcode for a quote!

*IMPORTANT INFORMATION*
○ I give a 50% discount for the first class to help cover the website's fee for my contact details, so your first class is £10, not £20
○ The site makes its money through charging for tutors' details; tutors don't earn from these fees.
○ The site ONLY releases my number, address or email IF you buy them. It also monitors all student-tutor correspondence
○ If we exchange any details, moderators will delete them and terminate our memberships so DON'T ask my details or send me yours! The first part of your postcode is okay but otherwise, please don't!
○ If you're happy to go forward with lessons, buy the details, drop me a line or an email and we'll arrange a half-price lesson at your convenience☺

Tutoring Experience:

○ I've taught between the ages of four and 70 - it's never too soon or too late to take up a language from scratch or to dust off your skills!
○ I currently teach twenty individuals, five couples, a family of three generations and a class of thirty kids in a school
○ I've prepared students of all ages for oral, reading, writing and listening exams at GCSE, 'AS' and 'A2' (WJEC, AQA, OCR and EDEXCEL)
○ I also teach KS2, KS3 and have assisted university students with interpreting exams and presentations
○ Workshops and corrective services for university-level exams and coursework provided from £10
○ Three of my students have moderate to severe dyslexia and have had no trouble getting up to speed with my teaching methods
○ Whether you want to relocate, travel, do business or give your kids a stab at becoming bilingual, I tailor your classes to you!

Tutoring Approach:

All my current students, regardless of age, ability or aims, have described me in reviews (see https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/languages/teacher/kaya.spanish.french.italian.english/) as approachable, structured and encouraging – to me, trusting someone enough to be comfortable making mistakes in front of them, to have a laugh while learning and to enjoy progress are key in learning any discipline effectively.

Whatever your aims, strengths or weaknesses and however you learn as an individual, I structure classes based on what you want to learn and why. I want you to leave class understanding what you've learnt, knowing where improvement is needed and most importantly, feeling accomplished and able to ask questions or give feedback.

For exam prep, I have textbooks and past papers at your disposal. I aim to make you comprehensively solid on grammar application, topic-specific vocabulary and pronunciation (accent, stress). I also provide handy tips to impress examiners (polishing off punctuation, throwing in idioms and expressions, adding appropriate non-lexical utterances to fill pauses, complex grammar constructions, specialised vocab etc).

Whether for curriculum or non-academic purposes, I teach younger kids with games, pictures and music – it’s just more effective and less gruelling than written tests! I also use visual, audible and kinaesthetic memory aids. For adults and teens, I use similar but more structured, age-appropriate methods i.e. we listen to and learn song lyrics, watch films and do creative writing in the target language.

Homework is never compulsory but I try to start off by setting between three and five minutes of practice, research or reading for you to do a day until next class, rather than one half-hour block of work per week – this can slowly be increased if you find it manageable but little and often will commit information to your long-term memory.

I tailor oral and written exercises, which focus on language production (i.e. enabling you to speak and write in the target language). They aim to aid recall of vocabulary and also serve as grammar drills so we can eventually move onto translations and conversations. I also record tailored pronunciation exercises.

Classes veer away from lengthy explanations and err towards quickly equipping you to practise applying new skills, to bolster existing ones and to troubleshoot where improvement is needed – once you’re comfortable with a topic, we quickly move onto new things.

I prefer to choose a regular day and time to teach you namely as consistent intervals allow you time to process what you’ve learnt but I understand life is complex and am quite flexible.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Arabic, Portuguese, Urdu
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Liverpool (2015) - Modern European Languages BA (Hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Liverpool Blue Coat School (2011) - A Levels (College) (✔ On File)
  • Liverpool Blue Coat School (2009) - GCSEs (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Tower Hamlets French tutor, Tower Hamlets Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets Primary French tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary French tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE French tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level French tutor, Tower Hamlets University French tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner French tutor, Tower Hamlets Primary Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets University Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner Italian tutor, Tower Hamlets Primary Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets University Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner Spanish tutor