Skip to main content

Information About Rufus - Spilsby tutor

Profile Picture

Rufus's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rufus:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £10.00
Casual Learner £10.00

Map Location

Map for Rufus (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am Rufus, I'm 33 and I'm a qualified teacher of English as a Foreign Language. I grew up in Lincolnshire before I went to University in Aberystwyth in Wales. I have a BA and an MA degree in history.
For several years I worked in charity retail as a shop manager and then I decided to train to be an English teacher. I have a spirit of adventure and a girlfriend in Russia so I went to live and teach in Russia. Now I'm home again and I'd like to be able to help people who are new to Lincolsnhire with their English. My preference now is to teach online via skype.
Outside work I'm interested in history, I like music and I like to follow my two favourite sports which are football and Formula One.

Tutoring Experience:

In Russia I gained experience of teaching adults from pre intermediate to advanced levels in the cities of Moscow and Saint Petersburg. I have also taught children and teens aged from 7 - 17 years old in Saint Petersburg schools and holiday camps.
Since September last year I've been teaching online Via Skype and that is really what I'm looking to expand upon if I can.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is very much the communicative approach. I think the best way to learn English is by practicing both vocabulary and grammar in context through use and practice. To me speaking is very important and making sure my students get plenty of speaking time is central to my approach. In the classroom setting my students learn through discussions, interactive activites and various games.
For individual students I'm able to apply an approach that is quite personalised. I try to make the theme of the lesson something I know my student will be interested in. I also do my best to tailor my lessons to the level of my students who are able to learn at their own pace. I'm relaxed and calm and I like to give plenty of encouragment and help so that lessons with me can be a comfortable and productive experience.

Qualifications:

  • TEFL England (2011) - TEFL (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • TEFL England (2011) - Grammar and Language Awareness (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Wales Aberystwyth (2004) - History (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • niversity of Wales Aberystwyth (2001) - History / Library Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Spilsby English (Foreign Language) tutor, Spilsby University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Spilsby Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor