Skip to main content

Information About Ruby - Cardiff tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Ruby's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ruby:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Map for Ruby (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a twenty one year old Cardiff University graduate.

I have a 2:1 in Ancient History, But I also have a passion for English Literature and Language, for which I have gained A*s at GCSE and A Level respectively.

I can both host and go to tutees, but I am limited to the use of public transport. I am happy to go further afield where possible.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring for a year now, and I'm pleased to say that so far my tutees have a 100% pass rate . I was also an educational volunteer at The Cardiff Story when I was studying at the university, which involved helping out on school trips and co-leading Welsh Baccalaureate workshops.

In addition to this, I have also worked several summer schools with educational aspects. Some have been for children aged 6-12, supervising arts and crafts or group activities, but more recently I have undertaken the role of student mentor for my university's widening access scheme which involved working with teenagers interested in coming to university. Through this scheme I helped run research exercises and personal statement writing sessions.

Tutoring Approach:

I have the revision guides for AQA, Edexcel and OCR and so I would be dependent on them to some extent in to order to adhere to the requirements of each individual exam board.

I feel, however, that better grades come from not just learning what is required but by developing strong evidence based opinions on each topic. By setting assignments that encourage debate or independent expression outside of exam guidelines, I believe students become more articulate and begin to feel confident comfortable writing essays or descriptive pieces.

I am also able to provide exercises and techniques to improve spelling, grammar and writing style.

The benefit of individually tutoring someone is that you are able to work at their pace and engage with them at their level, and so I aim to facilitate and support my tutee's own personal educational needs, as well as make their learning more enjoyable.

Qualifications:

  • Cardiff University (2014) - BA Ancient History (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Henley College (2011) - A Levels (College) (✔ On File)
  • Wycombe High School (2009) - GCSEs (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cardiff English tutor, Cardiff Secondary English tutor, Cardiff GCSE English tutor, Cardiff A-Level English tutor