Skip to main content

Information About Rowena - Penzance tutor -

Profile Picture

Rowena's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rowena:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Rowena offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Rowena

Personal Description:

Friendly and positive, I enjoying travelling, socialising, reading and art. I also enjoy walks and the countryside; spending time in nature and with my 12 year old son. I have a love of literature and poetry and in the joy of language and words. I have just taken up running (a real beginner!) and am very happy to have exhibited successfully in three local art exhibitions and am hoping to develop my art business further.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a fully qualified English teacher (ages 11-18+) and have 10 years' experience, teaching in Secondary schools and in FE/HE.I currently work part-time at Penwith College as a study skills tutor, working 1-1 with Access, A-level and GCSE students - helping with structuring work, spelling and grammar and also organisation skills, exam skills and confidence building. I also teach English on a Foundation degree module.

As a qualified TEFL teacher, I have recently taught ESOL to adult learners of all levels (Beginner/Intermediate/Adv) both for Cambridge certification, IELTs exams and personal improvement. I have taught classes at college and also privately in my home. I enjoy this very much and am also planning to teach a Spanish student via Skype in the near future, now that she has returned to Barcelona.

This year I have also been coaching FE students in the QTS Literacy Skills Test, where a pass is necessary prior to teacher training at University.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a patient teacher and a good listener, aiming to help build students' confidence and self-belief in their work, focusing on interests and strengths right from the outset.

My current role at college ensures that I regularly develop strategies for learning. I believe all students are individuals and in order to achieve best results, different approaches need to be employed and students can be engaged in many different ways, beginning with and building on their own interests and enthusiasms. I have experience of working with students with dyslexia and use practices which best help these learners.

I am also interested in multi-sensory learning, incorporating many types of intelligence to develop skills, enjoyment, understanding and achieve successful outcomes.

Another specislism and area that can help in all levels of learning is relaxation - learning techniques that work for the individual with their approach to studying and removing blocks and difficulties. This also helps to develop self-confidence and self-belief. Engaging curiosity within learning to help ensure true understanding is also key.

I sometimes incorporate visualisation techniques and also meditation and EFT if students like to try these helpful and gently positive holistic approaches - they work so well!

I am a focused and dedicated tutor and like to produce short/longer term plans for students in order to progress as fully as possible; these plans also have flexibility too, of course, depending on the student as the lessons progress.

I have had excellent feedback from past students, both here and via my teaching and tutoring role at at college, many of whom have stayed in touch, which is wonderful.

I have ticked weekday evenings but am also free in the daytime on Mondays and Wednesdays and also during the Summer holidays.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Truro College (2007) - TEFL Qualification (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Worcester University College (2001) - English (11-18) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leicester University (1998) - (Hons) English Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Glamorgan (1997) - HND Art and Ceramics (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Penzance Study Skills tutor, Penzance Secondary Study Skills tutor, Penzance GCSE Study Skills tutor, Penzance A-Level Study Skills tutor, Penzance University Study Skills tutor, Penzance Casual Learner Study Skills tutor