Skip to main content

Information About Rosie - Northampton tutor -

Profile Picture

Rosie's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Rosie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Rosie

Personal Description:

I am passionate about maths, and hope to inspire confidence in all my students in their abilities.

I take education seriously and believe learning should be fun and engaging. My main interest is in mathematics, however I am also able to teach both piano and flute, having achieved grade 8 in both (please see my FirstTutorsMusic profile).

I have five years research experience at a high academic level into low carbon energy solutions, with additional experience working on EU level projects. This has given me a first hand experience of academic life and what it has to offer. Although a career in academia is not for everyone, achieving the desired grades at the desired level is definitely doable!

Tutoring Experience:

I have two years experience working at the local college, and from this a Preparing to Teach in the Life Long Learning Sector (PTLLS) qualification. I have also privately tutored students in mathematics on and off for ten years, having recently taught students through the 2018 exam period in Edexcel and AQA maths and physics exams. I am up to date with the syllabus', and have a large collection of resources. I currently work on a one-one basis at Bosworth College and have an enhanced and updated DBS certificate.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is to create a calm environment where I can give students the confidence to figure out solutions to problems using their own logic. My methods are transferable to other subjects, with the key to learning being a strong grasp of the basics underlying the subject to give the tools to tackle any problem, and of course, enjoyment!

I am a keen advocate of practice makes perfect, i.e. the more you do something, the easier it becomes. So, I will be setting homework tasks, but ultimately it is all about finding some enjoyment from what you are learning (which I hope my enthusiasm will provide!).

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2015) - 5 years of doctoral research in Hydrogen and Fuel Cells (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • Northampton College (2012) - PTLLS - College teaching qualification (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Birmingham (2009) - 2:1 BSc Mathematics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trinity College and Associated Board (2007) - Grade 8 Piano and Flute (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Northampton Maths tutor, Northampton Music tutor, Northampton Secondary Maths tutor, Northampton GCSE Maths tutor, Northampton A-Level Maths tutor, Northampton Casual Learner Maths tutor, Northampton Primary Music tutor, Northampton Secondary Music tutor, Northampton GCSE Music tutor, Northampton Casual Learner Music tutor