Skip to main content

Information About Rosie - Pickering tutor -

Profile Picture

Rosie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rosie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £22.50
Secondary £22.50
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £22.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £22.50
13 Plus £22.50
14 Plus £25.00
Casual Learner £22.50

Drama

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £28.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

History Of Art

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a highly experienced English (and drama) teacher and tutor in the Ryedale and Pickering area. When I was a teenager, my parents invested in my education by arranging for private tuition for a subject I found very challenging. I know the significant role that a good tutor can play in a young person's education. I have always worked in education and have found teaching a very rewarding career. I have been an education manager in museums and arts organisations recently and, with an MA in the History of Art, I am happy to teach that subject too.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English and English Literature for 11 years in secondary schools, including over 6 as a Head of English. Most recently I have been teaching the AQA and Cambridge specifications, but am happy to adapt my skills to teach others. I have successfully tutored a number of pupils over the last few years, with tutees often recommending me to their friends. My tutees have had a range of needs, from seeking confidence, a specific grade at GCSE (for example a C), to improve in problem areas or to maximise their potential in this important subject. At Key Stage Three and GCSE level I have experience of teaching pupils across the ability range and have worked particularly on strategies to move up the grade boundaries. As a result I am very confident delivering coaching for moving, for example, from a D to C grade and B to A or A*. The last two visiting Ofsted inspectors to observe my lessons both judged me to be an 'outstanding' teacher and over the last few years my results have been consistently strong, with pupils often making exceptional levels of progress.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is always first to identify which areas tutees need to develop and ensure that I work with tutees and their parents to give the best possible, focused intervention. I take a positive approach and adapt my teaching methods for the individual pupil. With younger tutees and struggling learners, I incorporate a range of short literacy games to target key areas and seek to develop confidence and excitement for the subject along the way. My aims are always to maximise progress whilst simultaneously ensuring that skills and new learning are consolidated for future use. I have high expectations for my learners because I know the difference that having one-to-one tuition can and should make.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (School of Education) (2003) - Secondary Teaching (English) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • York University (2002) - Distinction (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • York University (1999) - 2:1 Joint Hons (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Pickering English tutor, Pickering Entrance Exams tutor, Pickering Drama tutor, Pickering English (Foreign Language) tutor, Pickering History Of Art tutor, Pickering Primary English tutor, Pickering Secondary English tutor, Pickering GCSE English tutor, Pickering A-Level English tutor, Pickering Casual Learner English tutor, Pickering Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Pickering Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Pickering GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Pickering Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor, Pickering GCSE Drama tutor, Pickering Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Pickering University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Pickering Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Pickering A-Level History Of Art tutor, Pickering Casual Learner History Of Art tutor