Skip to main content

Information About Rosa - Cardiff tutor -

Profile Picture

Rosa's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rosa:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Sociology

Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Rosa

Personal Description:

I have a First Class Honours degree in Sociology from the University of Leeds. I'm fluent in Welsh and so can offer tutoring through the medium of Welsh as well as English, if preferred. I currently work for a charity part time and also as a freelance proofreader and copy-editor, mostly for students and academics, helping them express their ideas clearly and coherently in their work.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring A levels students since graduating from the University of Leeds in 2012 and have been very pleased to see their grades improve over time. I feel that this success is due to the rapport I make a point of developing from an early stage, and the interest and enthusiasm I have for my subject, which I am told often comes across in my work.
Besides tutoring, I also work as a proofreader and copy-editor, where I am sometimes approached for advice on academic writing, often by people who have never been properly taught this key skill. Throughout my educational career, I have found that without this skill, an individual's progress can be severely restricted. I often find, therefore, that whilst tutoring it is important to spend time concentrating on this skill.

Tutoring Approach:

I tailor my tutoring to the individual needs and circumstances of the tutee. We can work on homework, building on the feedback from their school teacher, as well as setting achievable targets to aim for. Again, depending on the needs of the student, I can set homework that ranges from practice essay questions, to reading relevant texts (which I provide) or exploring particular online sources. For this to work, it's vital for the tutee to feel comfortable and confident in the subject, and to find it interesting and relevant. There's nothing worse than reducing what can be a fascinating exploration into how the world works into a dry, and seemingly pointless exercise.

Regarding my tutoring rates: I prefer to work from home, but will consider coming to you if it is reasonably accessible by public transport (I do not have a car). In such cases, I ask for travel expenses to be paid as well.

I am more than happy for parents or guardians to sit in on the lesson.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Welsh
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Leeds (2012) - 1st Class Honours Sociology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf (2008) - A-levels (grades A) in Economics and History (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf (2005) - AS levels (grades A and B) in Politics and Religious Education respectively (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Cardiff Sociology tutor, Cardiff A-Level Sociology tutor, Cardiff Casual Learner Sociology tutor