Robert

Robert

Glasgow Tutor

Astrophysics graduate, starting my PGDE in summer. Six months of formal teaching experience, and ~4 years tutoring. I've had a strong interest in Maths and Science since a young age, I don't plan on giving it up any time soon, and I'm eager to share it. I'm an avid snooker player, and an amateur astronomer and astrophotographer - another passion of mine I regularly share through regional societies.

I also recently adopted a kitten named Socks.

Tutoring Experience

Throughout my time at university I took part in tutoring and mentoring programmes with the Student Ambassadors and the Physics Society, as well as private tutoring on weekends. I also organised tutoring groups for those on my course, to help others in subjects I excelled at. At my first job out of university, I naturally gravitated towards helping new trainees, and eventually helped run classes on interview techniques, and CV workshops. Since then, I worked at a high school for six months teaching students aged 11-16.

Tutoring Approach

Everyone is different when it comes to learning, so I'll always adapt my methods to the individual. I strongly believe anyone can learn anything when its broken down for them in the correct way, and I strive to be the person who can do that for my students.

First I want to instill a real foundation of understanding in the subject, and the willingness to ask questions or probe further into a topic. After that comes practice as the student needs to see that complications can arise in the simplest of questions, but also that they'll gain confidence in answering them.

The main thing I want to pass on is why I love these subjects. I want to inspire my students to want to learn more and above all to enjoy it.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Hull2016BachelorsPhysics with Astrophysics
Robert
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
Physics
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
Casual Learner£20