Robert

Robert

Yarm Tutor

I am a friendly, outgoing married man who has taught for nearly twenty years in Secondary schools and FE colleges across Yorkshire. I try always to encourage student and pupil alike into greater understanding and learning, believing in a student centred approach to learning. I am a fully trained Methodist Local Preacher in the Methodist Church UK [since 2004] and a published poet and author. I particularly love teaching adults who are learning English as a second [or 6th] language and seek to further this experience where possible.

I am totally free now after moving from York to Stokesley at the end of July 2016 and have spaces in the week for new students of any age. I charge one flat rate of £20 and can travel 10 miles from Stokesley. Anything further will increase the charge to £25 an hour due to rising fuel costs. Please take this into account when choosing my services. I choose not to tutor at weekends and can usually be seen on the motorbike flying past you in the outside lane.

2018-19 = Free and ready to Removed booked any time Monday - Friday. 5pm onwards is preferred for High School tutees.

Tutoring Experience

100% success rate at GCSE and A Level English since 2014 in all home tutored students. (level 4 or C grade)

My teaching experience covers all ages and abilities from Year 7 to mature students from other countries who wanted to learn the English language. I have taught through Key Stage three, four [GCSE] and at A Level at both language and literature. I am semi retired and In recent years, I have taught the AQA , Edexcel, OCT and Cambridge Board papers and have taught Functional Skills to Level 2 should that need arise. I can do either or both; Language and Lit.

I have tutored a severely dyslexic student to a successful 2:2 degree in Theology and Religious Studies, have personal experience of Mears Earhlamm Syndrome and Dyslexia, Dyspraxia and ADHD when teaching. Anything can be overcome!

Tutoring Approach

Mature, calm and friendly approach, believing in the student being at the centre of their learning experience. Resources are available to aid in this process. Exam results have been most rewarding in the past and will be in the future. Most recently tutored an A level student in three months to complete her studies and get a place at Lincoln University. Happy bunny that day!

Results 2014 - 18 = 100% at A Level [C] and GCSE [All received the magical grade 4 = C]

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, Italian
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Sheffield Hallam1996PGCEPGCE English: Secondary
Sheffield Hallam1995BachelorsBA Hons: Social + Literary Studies 2:1

Robert's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Robert
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Primary£20
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
A-Level£20
University£20
Casual Learner£20
Religious Studies
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
A-Level£20
University£20
Casual Learner£20