Skip to main content

Information About Ricky - Enfield tutor -

Profile Picture

Ricky's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ricky:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00
Casual Learner £40.00

German

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00

Map Location

Map for Ricky

Personal Description:

Salut! Hallo! Hola!

My name is Ricky and I have been a private tutor for over 4 years. I boast a 100% A*-A pass rate at GCSE and A-Level and have seen over 25 tutees achieve their scholastic and personal goals in the past 2 years alone.

I`m a personable, dedicated and professional tutor with a passion for languages and for teaching. I graduated from University College London (UCL) in 2012, with a 2:1 in BA Joint Honours French and German and I completed my Postgraduate Certificate in Education in Secondary Modern Foreign Languages, specialising in French and German, at the University College London Institute of Education in Russell Square: the world`s leading establishment for education. I hold full Qualified Teacher Status and I am DBS-checked.

I am a native English speaker and am fluent in both French and German, having studied both languages formally for over 12 years. I tutor across all key stages, from KS3 to adult learner, and can also teach Spanish to KS3. In addition, I have a working knowledge of Hindi, Italian and Turkish.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching on a formal and informal basis throughout my life, first as a private French and German tutor for GCSE students, amongst others, and subsequently as an English teacher in France and Germany during my university year abroad, working with individuals from KS2- to University-level. I have also worked for a globally reputable tutoring company, offering tuition for children in Mathematics and English.

As part of my PGCE course, I spent four months - (October 2014 to January 2015) - working as a French and German Teacher at The Latymer School, a mixed grammar school for 11-18 year olds in Edmonton, Enfield, as the first of my two school placements, teaching across the entire school range, from year 7 to year 13. I then moved onto my second school placement (February 2015 - May 2015) at East Barnet School in East Barnet, where I continued to work as a German and French teacher across the board, but focusing particularly on GCSE and A-Level German and French.

I completed my PGCE course in June 2015 and have spent 2 years working as a teacher of French and Spanish at the multi-academy trust "Oasis Academy" in Enfield.

As of September 2017, I have been working as Deputy Head of Languages at Copthall School in Mill Hill.

Tutoring Approach:

I prioritise a `fun`, hands-on and highly tailored approach to tutoring, believing that learning should not be a laborious task, rather is something that, with expert guidance and careful planning, can be an exciting, challenging and highly rewarding experience for the learner.

Whatever the tutee wishes to achieve in their sessions with me, be it going over a certain grammar point or topic they are struggling with at school or wish to revise, revisiting core material prior to examination, preparing for controlled assessments, or simply learning their language of choice as a hobby for conversational or business purposes, I will go above and beyond to offer tuition of a first-class standard, ensuring that the needs of the tutee are consistently being met. Communication, I believe, is key and to this end I will continually ask for feedback from the tutee on how they are finding the pace and content of lessons, adapting my methods to suit their individual needs each time.

I have extensive knowledge of all exam boards and syllabi, in particular AQA, Edexcel and OCR, as well as the IGCSE exam boards. I regularly attend courses to keep abreast of changes within the UK MFL curriculum, including the new languages GCSE 9-1 specification, which I am fully qualified to teach and will first be examined in 2017. I am also very familiar with the texts and films studied at A-Level, particularly for the AQA and Edexcel exam boards, (for instance "La Haine" for French and "Goodbye, Lenin" for German) and I understand how to bridge the gap between GCSE and A-Level, which can oftentimes feel quite overwhelming!

I get excellent results by mаking lessоns interactive аs well аs infоrmаtive, using a range of resources and materials rather than relying solely on the textbook! I aim to build the confidence of tutees and will place an importance on improving their spoken fluency - after all, that is what learning a language should be about!

Finally, I take particular pride in acting as a `mentor` to my tutees, and not just in their study of languages. I will do my all to help them plan and make best use of their time, giving them as many hints and tips as possible and it is going this extra mile that, I believe, makes me truly stand out as a private tutor.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Hindi, Punjabi, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Institute of Education (IoE), London (2015) - PGCE Secondary Modern Foreign Languages (French and German) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College London (UCL) (2012) - 2:1 BA French and German (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Chislehurst & Sidcup Grammar School, Kent (2008) - A-grades in both French and German (College) (✔ On File)
  • Chislehurst & Sidcup Grammar School, Kent (2006) - A*-grades in French and German (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Enfield French tutor, Enfield German tutor, Enfield Spanish tutor, Enfield Secondary French tutor, Enfield GCSE French tutor, Enfield A-Level French tutor, Enfield Casual Learner French tutor, Enfield Secondary German tutor, Enfield GCSE German tutor, Enfield A-Level German tutor, Enfield Casual Learner German tutor, Enfield Secondary Spanish tutor