Skip to main content

Information About Richard - Derby tutor -

Profile Picture

Richard's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Richard:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Geography

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a former Ecclesbourne School pupil that currently works at an 11-18 school in Derby. I am in my 10th year of teaching and mainly teach Geography and History at GCSE and A Level. I have a Masters in Teaching and learning with a focus on the Mentoring and Coaching of students.

I am friendly and approachable and aim to make all tutoring sessions fun and educational. I have a number of resources to make my sessions both interesting and enjoyable and my students always achieve their predicted grades through my help.

I have been an examiner for many years for both OCR and AQA and have an in depth knowledge of how to answer exam style questions and an understanding of exactly what examiners are looking for in responses.

Tutoring Experience:

10 years teaching experience at a range of secondary schools in the Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and Leicestershire area.

Tutoring Approach:

–––––––––––
I have been extremely successful in raising achievement and exam results in every school in which I have worked.

I have recently helped a student achieve an A* at A Level Geography when they were only predicted a D. I have also recently helped a student achieve a B in History when they were predicted a D grade by their school. These claims can be supported by a dialogue of text messages and emails from these students who have kindly given me permission to share these with prospective tutees.

I am an assessor (examiner) for the OCR and AQA exam boards and I know exactly what to expect in the exam papers. I also have an excellent knowledge of Edexel and WJEC exams having taught all four specifications.

I realise the importance that tutoring has in order to help students fulfil their potential. My approach is to personalise the learning of my students whilst also working as a mentor. Getting to know my students is paramount to the success of my tutoring as I cannot offer my assistance without understanding the areas which need to be targeted.
–––––––––––

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Leicester (2012) - Masters in Learning and Teaching (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leicester (2011) - Mentoring and Coaching (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leicester (2008) - Post Graduate Certificate of Education: Secondary School (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Derby (2005) - BSc Honours Geography (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Derby History tutor, Derby Geography tutor, Derby Primary History tutor, Derby Secondary History tutor, Derby GCSE History tutor, Derby A-Level History tutor, Derby Primary Geography tutor, Derby Secondary Geography tutor, Derby GCSE Geography tutor, Derby A-Level Geography tutor