Skip to main content

Information About Richard - Taunton tutor

Profile Picture

Richard's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Richard:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Richard offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

French

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Secondary £25.00£23.75
GCSE £25.00£23.75
A-Level £30.00£28.50
Casual Learner £30.00£28.50

Spanish

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Secondary £25.00£23.75

Latin

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Secondary £25.00£23.75

Map Location

Map for Richard

Personal Description:

A former Head of Languages in high profile schools in England and Australia, I recently decided upon a career change. I am seeking private tutees to help me out whilst I get my bespoke travel planning business off the ground. I have 15 years' experience as a languages teacher.

I taught for 8 years at The King's School, Parramatta, Australia's oldest school. In 2013 I came back to England and live in Taunton. I play cricket for a local club, support Exeter Chiefs and take part in local musical productions. I also run an educational resources company, selling the Red Squirrel Education Pack to Primary Schools to raise awareness of the plight of Britain's native squirrel.

Tutoring Experience:

16 years language teaching (8 years in Australia, 7 in England, 1 teaching English in France)
3 years as a Head of Languages department
Senior French teacher (A-levels, Oxbridge entry, HSC French and French Extension in Australia)

Senior examiner and marker for the New South Wales Board of Education for the HSC French.

I have had private tutees for French, Latin and Spanish during most of my teaching career, from beginner level to A-level/HSC level.

I have lived in Australia, France and Spain and have run school language trips to France, New Caledonia and Italy (Rome and Pompeii) as well as arranging exchange programmes between students.

Tutoring Approach:

I love languages and I aim to pass on my passion for communicating to my students.

I adapt my tuition to suit the learning style of my tutees. Ordinarily lessons should involve Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing. Some might think me weird - I find grammar a thing of beauty and love helping struggling students to overcome diffulties with grammar rules. Many of my greatest memories in teaching are from the moments when the penny dropped for a student over a grammar obstacle.

I do expect my tutees to complete homework for me in addition to anything they may be set at school (and I will of course help with understanding how to approach tasks but categorically will NOT do homeworks or coursework for students).

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Latin, Spanish
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Exeter (1999) - Secondary, Languages (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Exeter (1998) - BA Hons (Exon) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Taunton French tutor, Taunton Spanish tutor, Taunton Latin tutor, Taunton Primary French tutor, Taunton Secondary French tutor, Taunton GCSE French tutor, Taunton A-Level French tutor, Taunton Casual Learner French tutor, Taunton Primary Spanish tutor, Taunton Secondary Spanish tutor, Taunton Primary Latin tutor, Taunton Secondary Latin tutor