Information About Rebecca - Chorley tutor

Profile Picture

Rebecca's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Rebecca:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Rebecca (Miss)


Personal Description:

I love Maths and love giving Maths tuition! I fell into it quite by accident, helping younger friends with their GCSEs when I was studying for my own A Levels. Over the last 13 years I have helped several people prepare for exams, and in 2011 I decided I might be good enough (and old enough!) to try making a business out of it! I now hold a BSc(Hons) in Maths and would love to study at a higher level one day. For now though, I am studying to be a nutritionist and herbalist, as I am passionate about healthy living. My dream is to be able to make a proper career out of tutoring and nutrition.

Tutoring Experience:

I hold a BSc(Hons) in Mathematics (2.1) from The Open University and have 13 years of experience in providing one-to-one tuition, predominantly at GCSE and A Level. I do occasionally work with younger students, but Key Stages 4 and 5 are my preferences. I have worked in two schools - one as an extension Maths coach and one as a Special Educational Needs Teaching Assistant - so I do also have classroom experience.

I have become very familiar with the major examination boards and the teaching style of several schools in the local area. I work with both high and low ability students, some on a long term basis and some for short, intensive sessions. I have taken several students who were failing to meet their target grades at school (some who were not even able to pass mock exams) and have helped them to get C grades and above in their GCSEs.

Tutoring Approach:

I have become very good at quickly establishing the root cause of students' problems in Maths and helping them to address these, so that their general classwork as well as their exam grades can improve. Where students are to be with me for more than a few lessons, I ensure detailed reference notes and worked examples are completed, so that they will have a resource to look back on during exam revision. I give lots of practice questions in all lessons and ensure past papers are attempted regularly in the lead up to exams. I am able to adapt my lessons to ensure that if students are worried about a topic at school, we can break away from what I was planning to do and work on that instead.

I have had a handful of my GCSE students decide to study Maths at college, so I like to think my lessons are fun and help people learn to love Maths! I teach from premises in Anderton which have a bathroom and waiting room, so parents may stay during lessons if they wish. I hold enhanced DBS clearance.


  • The Open University (2007) - BSc(Hons) Mathematics (2.1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chorley Maths tutor, Chorley GCSE Maths tutor, Chorley A-Level Maths tutor, Chorley Casual Learner Maths tutor