Information About Rebecca - St. Andrews tutor -
(9 reviews)

Profile Picture

Rebecca's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Rebecca:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £17.50
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £23.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £17.50
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £23.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £23.00

Map Location

Map for Rebecca (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a 21 year old student studying at the University of St Andrews. I am going into the last year of my degree, studying English Literature.

I've always enjoyed academia and have achieved excellent results at GCSE, A Level and in my University exams. In my free time I contribute to the student newspaper, I am a student ambassador for the University and am heavily involved in the Union Debating Society.

Tutoring Experience:

At both my schools I have been encouraged to take part in mentoring schemes which has been something I have really enjoyed. For the last five years I have tutored over 20 children, helping them to achieve some really outstanding grades.

I am also employed to teach critical thinking at summer schools with the Global Young Leaders programme.

Tutoring Approach:

I have very recent experience of what it is like to struggle with a subject and then overcome its difficulties. In my own strong subjects (English, History and French) I hope I can evoke a real enthusiasm for them, especially in cases where they've been loathed before! I believe that today teaching can become too exam focused which is not helpful to those struggling in the subjects. I think that an approach that simply lets you appreciate the subject for what it is, whilst equally giving you a solid grounding in the exam syllabus in your exam years, is far healthier for students, and will make them feel more comfortable with the subject. In addition, because I am still a student I hope that my tutoring will be more accessible to students. I will see myself as more of a friend helping out than a teacher, which hopefully will help your son/daughter to feel like they can ask me questions and even email me in a moment of difficulty - something that they perhaps would not feel with an older more formidable tutor! My younger brother is dyslexic, and because of this experience I also feel that I am particularly empathetic towards those with learning difficulties because I know what a struggle it can be, particularly when the school is unresponsive. Whilst I cannot claim to have any specialist training in the area I am more than happy to tutor students who may struggle more because of this.


  • Southend High School for Boys (2013) - A Level History (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Southend High School for Boys (2013) - A Level French (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Southend High School for Boys (2013) - A Level English Literature (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Southend High School for Boys (2012) - AS Level Psychology (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Latin
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: St. Andrews English tutor, St. Andrews French tutor, St. Andrews History tutor, St. Andrews Primary English tutor, St. Andrews Secondary English tutor, St. Andrews GCSE English tutor, St. Andrews A-Level English tutor, St. Andrews Primary French tutor, St. Andrews Secondary French tutor, St. Andrews GCSE French tutor, St. Andrews A-Level French tutor, St. Andrews GCSE History tutor, St. Andrews A-Level History tutor