Skip to main content

Information About Ray - Wallington tutor -

Profile Picture

Ray's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ray:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Ray offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£17.00
Secondary £25.00£21.25
GCSE £30.00£25.50

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£25.50

Chemistry

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£25.50

Biology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£25.50

Economics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£25.50
A-Level £35.00£29.75

Map Location

Personal Description:

Cambridge economics graduate with tutoring experience since 2010. Experienced with teaching economics at A-Level standard, and mathematics, biology, chemisty, and physics at all levels up to GCSE/IGCSE at both foundational and higher standards. Familiarity with AQA, Edexcel and other exam boards.

High personal academic achievement

- 5 As at A-Level including Mathematics and Economics
- 12 A*s at GCSE including Mathematics, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics
- Economics undergraduate degree from University of Cambridge

I have taught in London, in residential placements in other parts of the UK, and in Dubai. Interests include sports (tennis, athletics, badminton), travel, and guitar.

Tutoring Experience:

High results achieved for pupils:

- The majority of my Economics students have received an A grade or above.
- A* grade achieved for multiple students in GCSE/ IGCSE mathematics and science.
- Top grade achieved for a student in foundation paper for GCSE mathematics.
- Excellent results for 13+ Common Entrance exam
- Prepared students for Common Entrance exams who, as a result, gained places at Westminster, Tonbridge, Rugby, and City of London schools.

Positive reviews and feedback:

- Well planned, effective and enjoyable lessons. Ray tutored me for entrance to Westminster School at Sixth Form and was a consistently helpful and insightful economics tutor. Having never studied the subject before, my lessons were tailored to my particular aim in mind, whilst still providing me with a broad understanding of the topic areas. Particularly difficult, abstract problems were always explained clearly and succinctly, usually never requiring more than one or two lessons for me to fully grasp. Ray was also highly knowledgeable about the process of application and we spent helpful time discussing my personal statement and interview technique. I very much enjoyed my lessons and in the end I was given a place at Westminster with Economics being my highest scoring subject. Ray is a highly competent and organised tutor and I would recommend him to anyone wishing to learn more about economics in a short space of time. Xavier C

- Ray tutored my son Lachie in GCSE maths. He was an excellent tutor & Lachie passed with an A*. Caroline A

A selection of my mathematics placements:

Placement 1:

A mother wanted some extra help for her daughter’s IGCSE Mathematics Foundation exam. Mathematics was not a priority as her daughter wanted to study Theatre Studies at University. However, she did need to achieve the highest grade possible for the foundation tier, a C grade, in order to progress to sixth form. When we started, it was clear that there were quite a few gaps in her basic understanding, so I concentrated on improving her knowledge of algebra and indices. I quickly discovered that she was naturally talented at mathematics, but had not been taught properly in the past. It was encouraging to see her grow in confidence, and in her exams she achieved the C that she required. I believe she could have achieved a higher grade if she had been entered for the higher tier.

Placement 2:

My longest placement has been with a Russian family, where I tutored their son for the 13 ISEB mathematics exams. This was with the aim of getting him entry into year 9 at a prestigious independent senior school. He was very able in mathematics but also had a short attention span. Therefore, I concentrated on short bursts of theoretical learning interspersed with practical problems, as he found these stimulating. I accompanied the family for a 10 day period to Dubai, where I was responsible for teaching, and trusted with minding their son and taking him on excursions. I developed a very good relationship with this family, and was pleased to learn that their son had got into one of the top 4 public schools.

Placement 3:

My pupil was based in Waddon, Borough of Croydon, and I helped him improve his understanding of Key Stage 3 mathematics. His mother was concerned that he had little ability in the subject as he was regularly recieving grades below a C. Over the course of the first few lessons, I realised that he did have a good natural ability, but had not been clearly taught fundamental concepts such as converting between fractions, decimals, and percentages. I taught him these concepts, and we worked through his weekly online homework assignments. He was more skilled and knowledgeable by the end of our time together, and most importantly felt reassured and optimistic about his educational future.

Tutoring Approach:

My general approach is as follows:

- First understand how you feel about your current performance in the subject, and areas you would like to improve on.

- Identify any fundamental/recurring concepts that you currently find difficult, and enable you to understand them.

- Focus in on your particular exam board or syllabus and work through a variety of questions.

- Always focus first on past paper questions, seeing if you can currently answer it, and then teaching on that subject.This works because a) You feel a sense of confidence and familiarity by doing real questions b) You feel motivated as you start to realise you can answer these in the real exam c) What I teach you gets put into practice, and therefore the learning sticks d) You get to see how to apply what you have learned to any unusual questions that might appear

- Do a review test with a wide range of questions, to identify any areas where knowledge could be improved.

- Listen to your feedback, and refine approach to help you achieve the top grades.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2010) - Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wallington Country Grammar School (2006) - A Level: 5 A grades including Mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wallington Country Grammar School (2005) - A Level: 7 AS grades including Mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wallington Country Grammar School (2004) - GCSE: 12 A* grades (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wallington Maths tutor, Wallington Physics tutor, Wallington Chemistry tutor, Wallington Biology tutor, Wallington Economics tutor, Wallington Primary Maths tutor, Wallington Secondary Maths tutor, Wallington GCSE Maths tutor, Wallington GCSE Physics tutor, Wallington GCSE Chemistry tutor, Wallington GCSE Biology tutor, Wallington GCSE Economics tutor, Wallington A-Level Economics tutor