Skip to main content

Information About Raquel - Edinburgh tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

Spanish

Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Raquel (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a 29 year old Spanish woman and have now been living in Edinburgh for 6 years. I first came to Edinburgh as an ERASMUS student to finish my degree in History of Art, learn English and to get to know a new culture and way of life. After that I decided to change direction and I started something completely different here in Edinburgh; Nutrition and Dietetics. I am now in my 4th and last year and ideally I would like to work part-time as a dietitian in the hospital setting and pursue a PhD with a view to ultimately teaching at University level
I consider myself friendly, approachable with an interest in art, music and food. I am also reasonably sporty, I particularly enjoy cycling and playing tennis. My husband and I decided 4 years ago that we were going to cycle to Istanbul , in stages one weeks cycling every summer until we arrive… We have now got to Austria and have almost done one third of the proposed trip. I also try to play tennis at least once a week with a group of friends, which is something that I really enjoy and it gives me an excuse to see them all. Apart from that I love doing the usual things; going to the cinema, theatre or concerts. I also love travelling or simply meeting friends for a coffee and long chat.

Tutoring Experience:

I have formally taught Spanish as a foreign language when I was living in Spain during my 4 years as a History of Art student. Most of the students I taught at that time were undergraduates who had gone to a Spanish University for a year to do part of their degree there and learn fluent Spanish. Primarily I helped them with essays (including dissertations) and presentations though I also helped some with their listening and spoken Spanish. During my time doing this I gained experience of teaching students with very different levels of competency in Spanish. During my three years as a dietetic student I have also taught undergraduates from the years below mine, especially foreigners, with some course work, such as essays or portfolios.

Although I have not got experienced at teaching all age groups, I feel I can transfer the skills I have acquired during my years at university since as part of my course I have had placements which involved consultations seeing patients from all different backgrounds and ages. In order to find the best possible solution for every patient it is necessary to explain the principles of the disorders that they present with.

Tutoring Approach:

During the years I taught Spanish I realised that people have different ways of learning and it is important to tailor the teaching approach to the student’s needs. For that reason in the first session I like to get to know my students by having a chat about the areas that they would like to improve (aims/objectives). This first session is also a good opportunity for the student to get to know me and find out if I am suitable for them.

My approach to tutoring differs with age. But as a general rule I like to concentrate on maintaining the students flow by having dynamic lessons in which there is interaction between tutor and student. I feel it is important to provide work that is challenging but at the same time achievable. I also like to strengthen conversational and listening abilities by trying to make the topics interesting to the students and adapting them to the age group and personal interest. In addition I believe that to be able to speak and write fluently it is important to have a solid understanding of the Spanish grammar.

Qualifications:

  • Bsc hons History of Art 2:1 (2000-2005)
  • Chemistry highers A, Human Biology highers A, Mathematics highers B (2006-07)
  • 3rd year of Bsc hons Dietetics (2007-ongoing)
Additional Languages: English (British), Spanish
Availability: Weekends
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Spanish tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Spanish tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Spanish tutor, Edinburgh University Spanish tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner Spanish tutor