Rahil

Rahil

Oxford Tutor

I am a PhD student in Mathematics at Oxford University with seven years of tutoring experience.

I have worked for a number of the elite tuition agencies throughout the country, specialising in GCSE, A-level, and University level mathematics and science.

I have completed an MSc in Mathematical Modelling and Scientific Computing at Oxford, and a BSc in Mathematics at University College London.

I went to Dr Challoner's Grammar School and studied Maths, Further Maths, Additional Further Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Geography at A-level and received 2 A*s and 3.5 As as well as 12 A*s and an A at GCSE.

My research interests are in the field of mathematical modelling, and I have published papers in topics such as modelling the popularity of viral videos, and the roasting of coffee beans.

Tutoring Experience

I have tutored over one hundred and fifty different students in numerous subjects accumulating over a thousand hours of tuition time. I’ve had vast experience tutoring mathematics; teaching children as young as four year olds up to adult learners in their thirties, though the majority of my maths tutees have been GCSE, A level or undergraduate students.

I have taught all exam boards and all core, mechanics, statistics and further pure A level modules including those required for further maths and additional further maths.

I have tutored classes in applied mathematics at Oxford, have privately tutored pure maths undergraduates as well helping other university students studying engineering, economics, physics and chemistry with their maths modules.

At undergraduate level I teach predominantly applied mathematics subjects, such as differential equations, numerical analysis, and linear algebra.

I have also taught many students GCSE science and have also had experience teaching AS level physics and chemistry. In addition to this I’ve also tutored english, geography, french and business studies on occasion.

As well as private tutoring I have worked in schools teaching groups of students maths and science.

I also have worked as a piano teacher teaching students up to grade 8 level.

Tutoring Approach

I believe that every student has their own way of learning and I will try to adapt my methods of teaching to each individual person. I think it is important that students understand the key concepts and ideas in each subject to a good degree of depth so they can apply their knowledge to exam situations.

In addition to teaching a student the knowledge required for a subject I also heavily emphasise the learning skills required to maximise efficiency in learning. I am a big advocate of the growth mindset which is the belief that that their most basic abilities can be developed through dedication and hard work.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Dr Challoner's Grammar School2013SchoolA2 level - Maths A*, Further Maths A*, Chemistry A, Physics A, Geography A
University of Oxford2017MastersMathematical Modelling and Scientific Computing
Dr Challoner's Grammar School2011SchoolGCSE - 12A*s, 1A
University College London2016BachelorsMathematics - 1st

Rahil's Feedback

Feedback
31
Published feedback
31
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rahil
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40
A-Level£40
University£40
Casual Learner£40
English
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40
Physics
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40
A-Level£40
Chemistry
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40
Biology
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40
Geography
Primary£40
Secondary£40
GCSE£40