Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Aylesbury tutor -

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £40.00
13 Plus £40.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £40.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel

Personal Description:

Teaching has always been a central part of my life and it gives me great pleasure to help people of all ages and abilities to unlock their capabilities and develop a passion for learning.

I am a qualified secondary school Music and English teacher, having initially trained and taught in a selection of schools in the London Borough of Hounslow. This presented an array of both musical and teaching opportunities, furthered by my additional departmental responsibilities, such as subject teacher in charge of A-Level and Gifted and Talented Coordinator, before returning to my home town in Buckinghamshire to begin pursuing my dream of opening up an education centre of my own – an aspiration founded by my belief that one-to-one and personalised, small group tuition is the most successful, and enjoyable, method of education.

During the last five years I have worked as head of English at a small, independent college, where I devised and delivered our IGCSE English Language and Literature and A-Level English Literature (AQA Spec. A&B) courses. I have also been selected by AQA to examine their creative writing A-Level course, a brand new qualification which allows students to further explore creative writing and develop skills touched upon at GCSE level.

Presently, I predominantly teach from home, tutoring students in English, Maths and Music. I offer one-ton-one and small group supplementary tuition to compliment mainstream education, 11+ tuition (English, maths and non-verbal reasoning) and support with audition performances for university and drama school applications. During the daytime I work closely with students who study independently (home-educated or 'Y14') and offer support to families whose children are struggling to attend school. I tailor my lessons to the ends of my individual students, designing courses and creating resources in an accessible format.

In my free time I perform in an acapella choir, Aylesbury Consort of Voices, and enjoy walking my Labrador, Millie, in the surrounding countryside. I am a great fan of music and I believe that there is a strong link between being a successful creative writer and a musical performer.

Tutoring Experience:

Secondary school Music and English teacher (KS3-A Level): July 2007-2010
Private Music teacher (Grades 1-8): 2002-present.
English as a foreign language teacher (Conversational and Business English): June 2006-present.
Grammar School Entrance Examinations: October 2010-present.
Head of English: October 2010-February 2015.
AQA Examiner: February 2014-present.

Tutoring Approach:

Students travel to my house for lessons where they are greeted with a warm welcome from my Labrador. (She recognises who is who by their car engine and is often waiting by the door before students have arrived!) I teach from my study, a warm and bright room at the front of my house, which is an extension used exclusively for my teaching and, if you look around, you will see lots of little gifts kindly given to me by my past and present students.

With regards to English tuition, I provide texts, past exam papers and an exercise book. The latter operates as a record of what has been achieved in the lesson, homework set and targets. Importantly, I offer weekly constructive written and oral feedback and encourage parents to book appointments during the school holiday period to discuss their child's progress.
With regards to instrumental tuition, I do not insist that students work towards examinations, but rather that they learn to enjoy their instrument, developing a passion for their subject first and foremost. After this grounding has been established, working towards graded examinations is a natural progression for most students. I have a 100% success rate and most students pass with merit or distinction marks. Furthermore, I provide a diary which allows pupils to record their practice and facilitates teacher-parent dialogue. As far as possible I strive to lend pupils course materials.

Looking forward to meeting you!

*Lab will be shut away in the kitchen unless you feel comfortabe around animals.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Roehampton University (2007) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal Holloway, University of London (2006) - BMus (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Inter Language (2006) - TEFL (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • ABRSM (2002) - ABRSM Music Exams: Piano, Flute, Singing, Theory G1-8 (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Aylesbury English tutor, Aylesbury Entrance Exams tutor, Aylesbury Music tutor, Aylesbury English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury Primary English tutor, Aylesbury Secondary English tutor, Aylesbury GCSE English tutor, Aylesbury A-Level English tutor, Aylesbury University English tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner English tutor, Aylesbury Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Aylesbury Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Aylesbury Primary Music tutor, Aylesbury Secondary Music tutor, Aylesbury GCSE Music tutor, Aylesbury A-Level Music tutor, Aylesbury University Music tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner Music tutor, Aylesbury Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor