Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Ipswich tutor -

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Chemistry

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£24.00

Biology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£24.00
GCSE £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel

Personal Description:

Thank you for reading my profile!
I am experienced and expert in helping my pupils to see amazing improvement in maths and science. My pupils typically increase by two or more grades at GCSE and some by even more. Last year one of my pupils successfully jumped from grade 1 to grade 6 in their maths GCSE.

Over the summer, I can offer intensive tuition, for 1-9 GCSE revision, SATS or pre high-school confidence boosting. I also tutor specifically for the common entrance exam for local private schools and the teacher training online maths exam. I also tutor many adult learners.

I am a fully qualified science and maths teacher, with a BSc in Physics, who has taught successfully in both mainstream and private high school classrooms for many years. I have taught all abilities at KS3 and KS4 (GCSE) as well as AS Level Physics. I now run my own successful private tutoring business full-time, offering highly effective and inspirational home tuition in Maths and science, which allows pupils to progress rapidly.

It is so rewarding to watch a pupil's delight at gaining new-found ability and confidence in a subject that they previously struggled with. So many of us have struggled with maths and science at some point, but I have found a way to make it accessible and fun. Many of my pupils describe their surprise at really enjoying these subjects for the first time. After just two or three of our lessons, they realise that they can do well in subjects they previously found difficult.

If you think I could help you, please do send me an initial contact. I would love to hear from you!

Tutoring Experience:

As a full-time high school teacher for over 8 years, I have taught maths, biology, physics and chemistry for all the main exam boards. I currently teach biology in a private boarding school. I have also taught Spanish, English, IT, French and Art, in my time as a teacher, as well as children with behavioural issues in a Pupil Referral Unit, improving the grades of a number of GCSE students from F to C grades in one term.

As a private tutor, I have a proven track record of students achieving their aims, be it an A* grade in a GCSE physics exam or gaining that all-important pass at new 1-9 GCSE maths. It is wonderful to see the change in the self-confidence and happiness levels of my students as they gain skills. I have also taught successfully by **Contact Detail Removed**, as far afield as South Africa.

Tutoring Approach:

I spend the first lesson assessing the pupil's current level and listening what what they want to achieve. I will start teaching straight away to allow them to get the most from this first hour. I set homework regularly and conduct quizzes to show the progress being made, which is a huge confidence boost for pupils. Anyone can learn Science and Maths if the subject matter is broken down and presented in an enjoyable way that makes sense to the individual. My lessons are intense and interactive, and pupils invariably comment how much they have learned in the hour and how quickly the time has flown by!
It's fun, as learning should be and we often have a lot of laughter on the way.

I teach from my home. Some parents travel many tens of miles to bring their children to me, so I also offer a comfortable reception room in my home, where parents can wait during the lesson if they wish to. Most dash off to enjoy a coffee somewhere!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University College Suffolk (2008) - Science (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University College Suffolk (2008) - Science (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • University of London, Queen Mary College (1995) - Physics BSc (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Ipswich Maths tutor, Ipswich Chemistry tutor, Ipswich Biology tutor, Ipswich Secondary Maths tutor, Ipswich GCSE Maths tutor, Ipswich Casual Learner Maths tutor, Ipswich Secondary Chemistry tutor, Ipswich Secondary Biology tutor, Ipswich GCSE Biology tutor, Ipswich Casual Learner Biology tutor