Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Coventry tutor -

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have spent the last 4 years working as a Teaching Assistant at the University of British Columbia for both first and second year university courses along with studying for a Master's in Zoology. I am currently living in the UK writing up my thesis and I intend to graduate in March. My Master's at UBC consists of a combination of taught courses and a self-designed research project, which is much more similar in scope to a PhD in the UK. For my project I am investigating the role that temperature acclimation has on intrinsic heart rate in rainbow trout and associated cardiac mRNA expression changes. In 2013 I graduated with a BA in Physiological Sciences from Oxford University.

Tutoring Experience:

During my 4 years at UBC I have also been working as a Teaching Assistant. I most recently taught a second year undergraduate genetics course where I was responsible for running tutorials, writing problems for tutorials and exams, as well as marking midterm and final exams. I have also taught a first year undergraduate course in human biology with responsibility for teaching physiology and running laboratory sessions as well as marking laboratory reports, tests and exams. While at UBC I have also received a Biology Program TA Professional Development (BioTAP) Certificate and privately tutored students studying for third year physiology courses at UBC.

In my most recent teaching evaluation I received an average rating of 4.71/ 5 for the statement 'was an effective instructor' with no negative responses. Comments from students on these anonymous evaluations include:
'She is by far one of the best TAs I've ever had.'
'She is really good at explaining things.'
'I know for a fact I would have had a much worse mark without her help.'
'She took the time to come up with new ways to explain each concept to ensure we fully understood them.'
'Rachel was an awesome TA. She is always well prepared.'
'Very friendly and approachable, really liked her willingness to help.'

In non-academic teaching roles I have taught novice rowers and coxes in my role as undergraduate College Women's Vice-Captain and Captain of Coxes, and also as a swimming poolside assistant on a Saturday morning at my school.

Tutoring Approach:

I strongly believe that the best way to learn a subject is to understand the basic principles. Understanding the subject rather than simply memorising facts allows greater application of this information to answer a wider range of material. I focus on individualised
learning and over my 4 years as a teaching assistant at UBC I have developed a range of different teaching techniques to aid students in understanding challenging material. While working as a teaching assistant I have particularly enjoyed helping students in their progression from struggling with a topic to mastering the subject and increasing in confidence.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of British Columbia (2018) - Zoology (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of British Columbia (2014) - Biology Program Teaching Assistant Professional Development Cetificate (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Oxford University (2013) - Physiological Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Coventry Chemistry tutor, Coventry Biology tutor, Coventry Primary Chemistry tutor, Coventry Secondary Chemistry tutor, Coventry GCSE Chemistry tutor, Coventry Primary Biology tutor, Coventry Secondary Biology tutor, Coventry GCSE Biology tutor, Coventry A-Level Biology tutor, Coventry Casual Learner Biology tutor