Information About Rachel - Peterborough tutor

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:





Subjects Taught

Rachel offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a recent physics graduate of Oxford University and will be moving to Peterborough at the start of September 2016. Having spent the last three years putting into practice almost all the maths I learned at school, as well as learning degree-level techniques, I am in a good position to convince students that the seemingly difficult or 'pointless' things they are being taught have plenty of important and interesting applications, but I have not lost my enthusiasm for the beauty of pure maths either!

I can tutor secondary school students at any level up to and including A Level Further Maths (unless the student is taking multiple A Level modules in Statistics or Decision Mathematics). I am happy to travel to students' homes at no additional cost if they live nearby but there is a small additional charge for my travelling time for those who live further away.

Tutoring Experience:

While in Sixth Form, I was my school's Maths Ambassador and mentored a team of younger students for a national maths challenge, as well as talking to prospective students and parents about A Level Maths and Further Maths at several Open Evenings. I also enjoyed helping my brother and some of my classmates with maths and when they complimented me on my patience and my ability to explain things clearly, I decided I would like to do some formal tutoring after university.

I have a recent DBS certificate (CRB check) from my voluntary work with adults with learning disabilities in July 2016.

Tutoring Approach:

My teaching will be entirely tailored to what the student wants to get out of it, whether that means focusing on specific areas they are struggling with, working through the whole syllabus for their course or concentrating on past papers for exam technique practice. I know how important it is in a subject like maths to understand each concept thoroughly before moving on to something that builds on it and I have the patience to explain things as many times and in as many different ways as required.


  • University of Oxford (2016) - BA Physics: 2:2 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Bournemouth School for Girls (2013) - 4 A Levels: Maths: (A*), Further Maths (A*), Physics (A*) and Chemistry (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Bournemouth School for Girls (2011) - FSMQ Additional Maths: A (School) (✔ On File)
  • Bournemouth School for Girls (2011) - 11 GCSEs: all A* (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peterborough Maths tutor, Peterborough Secondary Maths tutor, Peterborough GCSE Maths tutor, Peterborough A-Level Maths tutor, Peterborough Casual Learner Maths tutor