Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Hungerford tutor -

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel

Personal Description:

I am an enthusiastic qualified teacher of Maths. I have a degree in Maths and I enjoy sharing my enjoyment of maths with others and helping them "get it"! I have experience of teaching maths in both secondary and primary schools and have been private tutoring for a number of years. In addition to private tutoring,I teach maths to young people with special needs at a private school in the mornings. Private tutoring enables me to focus on the actual teaching and allows me to tailor what I do to meet the student's needs. I am a good listener and this I use to understand where someone is with their learning. Being able to choose when I work enables me to have a balanced family and work life. I am flexible about when I work and try to accommodate all needs. I have 3 boys aged from 16 to 22 and so know all about the stresses that young people experience with their learning and school in general. As a result I demand high standards, but equally am sympathetic to the pressure they are under. Most of my work is from referrals which is why my profile does not always appear - I am often at full capacity.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught maths up to A Level in secondary school, as well as GCSE, functional maths and entrance exam maths. I have also taught in primary school where I have been the maths' coordinator. As a result I am able to teach maths at all levels and have a lot of experience adapting what I teach to the ability and age of the young person and am not restricted by their actual age or ability. I am always aware of what the next step needs to be and where it will lead on to. Equally I am able to track back if there are some problems and build back up at the appropriate speed and level. I have a current CRB check; degree and post-graduate teaching qualification in Maths. I have lost a number of students now that the GCSEs are finished and so am looking to complete my work load. All students that I have worked with for GCSE on a one-to-one basis have achieved their predicted grade or better.

Tutoring Approach:

I take time to understand where the student I am tutoring is, with their maths. I always ensure that I have a stock of past papers for whichever examination a student is aiming for. If tuition is for general support with school work, then I will ensure that I link in to areas they are working on in school and monitor homework by offering help with any issues arising - if required. I have a wide range of textbooks, questions, and challenges as well as concrete resources for practical illustration of a concept, if needed. I will use the computer for parts of sessions if appropriate and try to engage a variety of teaching approaches - depending on the student's preferred learning style. Above all I ensure that in each session, the student feels they have learned or achieved something new, or successfully tackled something they have had problems with before. I take time to ensure I am covering the areas they wish to look at/need to master, but use my judgement when they appear to be under/over ambitious pushing them on when they are ready. I tend to be guided by the student, and am not constrained by what I had planned to do. Often the best sessions are those where gaps have been found and then we have worked at that area of the subject until the student is confident. All sessions are for an hour and I would expect to tutor a student on a weekly basis - but am happy to do more than this. I do work during the holidays too and have had success with block bookings, where I will work with the student for maybe an hour a day in order to support them coming up to an exam. I am happy to be flexible. Daily sessions during holidays also helps if a student has been absent from school for any length of time. I would expect to provide detailed feedback on progress to parents - usually oral - but could be written - as requested - either each session or at other regular intervals. Some students even say they enjoy the sessions!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Reading (2005) - Conversion to Primary Teaching (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sussex (1990) - Secondary Maths (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Mancherster, Institute of Science and Technology (1984) - BSc Maths and French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Hungerford Maths tutor, Hungerford Secondary Maths tutor, Hungerford GCSE Maths tutor, Hungerford Casual Learner Maths tutor