Information About Rachel - Corby tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a qualified English teacher with seven years teaching and tutoring experience. I love working in education and working with people who want to learn. I am passionate about teaching and helping others achieve. I have a young daughter who is already busy learning similes and metaphors! I live in a lovely, welcoming home, with lots of space for tutees to study.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching English for seven years in secondary schools in Northamptonshire. I have experience of teaching ages 11-18. I have helped many GCSE students get their grade C and above. I have taught several classes of students who are bordering grade D/C and who have needed extra help and careful planning to get them their grade C. I have also taught a GCSE re-sit class and had students move from grade E to grade C within a year. I have also taught top set classes and I am very aware of how to maximise their learning potential and help them achieve their target grade. I have also taught many classes of key stage three students. I have specialised in writing schemes of work for years 7, 8 and 9 over the last few years so I am also very secure with my knowledge of the key stage three curriculum. I have helped students who are struggling with particular parts of English in key stage three and just need that boost to get them back on track. I have also helped students who have needed help for the transition between year 6 and year 7.

Tutoring Approach:

I thoroughly enjoy teaching and tutoring and would hope that your child would thrive with me.

I am very understanding and patient with my students. I am very approachable and have a calm manner. I understand the importance of achieving certain grades and I am willing to put in a lot of effort to help my students achieve. I am passionate about what I do and know that my students also feel that confidence from me.
I will discuss, with both you and your child, what you require from me and how you think I can help. We will then devise a plan together - also considering the areas being studied at school. I will offer feedback throughout each lesson, highlighting where they are achieving and areas we still need to work on. The feedback will always be positive and helpful.
I have a huge range of resources for all ages and abilities. I make my lessons fun, interactive and engaging. I understand how students learn best and I know that is through being engaged!
My tutoring will allow you or your child to work in the comfort of my home, without the distractions of others and knowing that they will not be judged for anything that they ask.


  • NLMK Consortium (2008) - Qualified Teacher Status (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Derby (2005) - BA Hons (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Corby English tutor, Corby Media / Communication Studies tutor, Corby Primary English tutor, Corby Secondary English tutor, Corby GCSE English tutor, Corby Secondary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Corby GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor