Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Stafford tutor

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £20.00

Drama

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a wife and mother of 2 teenagers and I currently live in the town of Stafford. I trained as a teacher across the range of all subjects, but specialised in Literacy and Drama. I love to go to the theatre and cinema, and I read a wide range of books. I am an active member of our local book club, and I also love to sew and to bake tasty treats for my children. I am currently looking to take up a tutoring position as we have just returned from France where we lived and worked for 3 years. I have a particular interest in children's literature, and love to foster reading at all ages. I also do a great deal of fund raising for our local hospice, and have recently raised £3,000 through various events. I have a full CRB certificate.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a class teacher for 20 years, teaching mainly in the upper end of Primary school, and specialising in Literacy skills. I have many years experience in preparing children for end of Key Stage SATs and for 11+ entrance exams, again specialising in Literacy. I have been employed as a private tutor to do this both privately and through schools, and have experience of tutoring children from ages 4 to 14. For the last 3 years I have been a teacher of English as a second language, in a private language school in Grenoble, France, where I taught all ages right up to adults. I also have personal experience of, and interest in, teaching a range of special needs on which I can provide more information if necessary.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to provide a relaxed approach to tutoring where the tutee is allowed to feel comfortable, express opinions safely, and be actively involved in their own learning. I try to incorporate the students own likes and dislikes and tailor make the tutoring according to the individual students needs, whilst focusing on the main areas of punctuation, grammar, spelling and reading. I strongly believe in rewarding students for both effort and achievement and for children this usually takes the form of stickers or reward charts. I also give little certificates and 'well done' notes to parents as I strongly believe that improved self-esteem leads to improved academic achievement, as does enjoyment of learning. For younger children and ESL students I often include learning games, although this can also work well with special needs children or even adults if required. I prefer to tutor from home, but am willing to travel if need be, although I would have to add on a couple of pounds to cover petrol.

Qualifications:

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stafford English tutor, Stafford French tutor, Stafford Entrance Exams tutor, Stafford Drama tutor, Stafford English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stafford Primary English tutor, Stafford Secondary English tutor, Stafford Casual Learner English tutor, Stafford Primary French tutor, Stafford Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Stafford Primary Drama tutor, Stafford Secondary Drama tutor, Stafford Casual Learner Drama tutor, Stafford Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stafford Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stafford Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor