Skip to main content

Information About Rachel - Durham tutor -

Profile Picture

Rachel's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Rachel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
University £45.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel

Personal Description:

Don't know your Shakespeare from your J.K.Rowling? Can't understand poems and don't remember the difference between a sonnet and an elegy? Need exam help? Don't worry, I can help!
As a child I was always the one with my head in a book. I loved learning, loved school and as an adult nothing much has changed.
I'm an imaginative, hard working English postgraduate with a First Class Honours Degree in English Literature with Creative Writing and an MA with Merit in English Literary Studies. I'm also a qualified TEFL teacher and currently I'm studying for an English PhD at Durham University.
I love explaining new ideas and exploring new information. I'm a patient, friendly individual, with plenty of enthusiasm and a relaxed attitude to learning (though I'm not afraid to push you to achieve your best).
When I'm not teaching I love travelling, music, cooking, sport… and of course reading!

Tutoring Experience:

I have a great deal of experience in teaching new learners, helping struggling students and challenging high achievers.
I've spent the last three years teaching in the UK, China and Thailand across a range of levels- from energetic kindergarten kids to serious second year university students. I've taught at a university, primary and secondary schools, a nursery and also provided private tutoring for adult beginner EFL learners and failing uni students in the UK and abroad.
All of this means that whatever your level of learning and whatever your level of confidence, I can help you unlock your potential and gain the results you deserve.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutor I'm here to facilitate your learning, to help you reach your goals and to challenge you to achieve more than even you think you are capable of. I'm happy to accommodate your needs and can tailor sessions to your individual learning style.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • LoveTEFL (2013) - TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Lancaster University (2011) - English Literary Studies: Merit (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Lancaster University (2010) - English Literature with Creative Writing: First Class Honours (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • King Edward VI Five Ways School (2007) - HIstory: A at ALevel (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Durham English tutor, Durham Secondary English tutor, Durham GCSE English tutor, Durham A-Level English tutor, Durham University English tutor, Durham Casual Learner English tutor