Information About Rachel - Hornchurch tutor


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am an artist, and part of what I love about my job is that through making art I am able to inspire others with the work I produce. Similarly I wish to inspire and help the young individuals who are seeking support with their studies, by motivating them to achieve personal goals and to tackle the challenges they may face with they work. I am responsible, reliable and empathetic, but perhaps more important than all of this, I want to make a difference. I believe that showing support, kindness and positivity to young people will encourage them and instill them with a belief that they can achieve anything, that they are unstoppable, and that with determination and lots of fun, they can achieve whatever they want to.

Tutoring Experience:

I am fortunate enough to have worked with young people in a variety of situations and environments. I recently worked as a mentor on a government funded programme called NCS with The Challenge, which worked with teenagers on a local level all over Britain to help young people in building a more integrated society within their local community. I have experience teaching art in schools to 13-16 year olds, in particular I have worked with students on coursework, helping them to prepare and develop GCSE work for upcoming assessments. I have also worked with fellow artists to give talks to children who are part of programs run by the Princes Trust. The programs are designed to encourage young people from various difficult backgrounds to use art as a way to encourage independence, discipline and as a way to express and understand their feelings about the world around them. I have also taught whilst traveling. In 2011 I travelled to New York to teach children at a performing arts camp. As a counsellor and instructor I cared for a bunk of 34 children aged 10-11 over a period of ten weeks. During the day I would teach classes in Drawing and Painting, Leather and Woodshop to children aged 5-17. I covered a wide range of topics in my classes such as abstraction, shapes, lines as well as painting and drawing techniques.

Tutoring Approach:

The most important aim for any tutor is to understand exactly what the tutee wants to achieve. With this in mind I believe that it is important to agree with the tutee what they want to get out of the teaching sessions, as this then enables a clear and determined path for study. Every student is different, however my teaching philosophy is based on supporting and encouraging students to tackle new and unfamiliar problems in ways that help them to reach their full potential. I start by focusing on topics and ideas that the student is familiar with, moving onto more complex and broader themes as they develop. This method allows the student to gradually grow in confidence, enabling them to approach exam papers with understanding and conviction. I will use past exam papers and questions to check and improve the students technique, encouraging them to focus on essay structure and effective use of language. I believe that with fine tailored tutoring and a friendly and engaging manner, any student can reach their full potential, and this is the ethos for my tutoring practice.


  • Glasgow School of Art (2013) - 2:1 BA Hons Fine Art (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Camberwell College of Art (2010) - Pass: Foundation Diploma: Fine Art (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sacred Heart of Mary's Girls School (2009) - A level: A-English Literature, B-History, B-Fine Art (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sacred Heart of Mary's Girls School (2008) - GCSEs: A*-English Literature, A*-History, A*-R.E, A-English Language, A-Fine Art, A-ICT, A-Graphics, B-Maths, B-Science, C-French (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hornchurch English tutor, Hornchurch A-Level English tutor