Skip to main content

Information About Rachael - Lancaster tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Rachael's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rachael:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Rachael offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Rachael (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified primary school teacher and former teacher of English as a Second Language. I am a mum of two young girls and have lived in Japan and Australia for 10 years, before returning to the UK in 2010.

Tutoring Experience:

I began teaching in 2000 after completing my Masters Degree in Social Anthropology from the University of Edinburgh. I studied for and passed a Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults. I then began teaching English as a Second Language to children and adults in Japan. I taught a range of classes from kindergarten groups to one on one business English lessons.

I moved to Australia in 2002 and began teaching in a High School Preparation Programme. I assessed overseas teenage pupils on arrival in the country and then taught them a range of subjects in English to enable them to pass High School entry exams in Australia.

In 2005 I took my Diploma of Primary Education (Australian equivalent of PGCE) and began working at a primary school. I taught all subjects to a range of age groups. I used technology to assist pupil learning, working alongside staff to trial Microsoft software. I worked in a school with a large amount of SEN and ESL pupils and so have a lot of experience of working closely with students to improve their reading, writing and maths to meet and exceed national targets. After taking maternity leave in 2009, I returned to the same primary school as a literacy intervention teacher. I worked across Key Stage 1 and 2 to help pupils struggling with reading comprehension prepare for national tests. I also worked with students who needed extending more, to provide higher level reading and vocabulary work than they were receiving in their class.

Since moving to the UK, I have completed a period of voluntary work at a local primary school. I have recently been working as a supply teacher in local primary and secondary schools, alongside tutoring work.

Tutoring Approach:

The benefit of one to one tuition is the ability to target the specific needs of the student. I believe in looking carefully at the students needs and working with them to set targets and achieve them. I am flexible and aim to quickly and accurately find the best learning style for students. I am punctual and committed to providing successful tuition that is appealing to the students as well as their parents.

Qualifications:

  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (2005) - Diploma of Primary Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • International House (2000) - CELTA (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Edinburgh (2000) - MA hons Social Anthropology 2:1 (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Durham Sixth Form Centre (1996) - A Levels in English Literature, History, RE and General Studies - all grade A (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Lancaster Maths tutor, Lancaster English tutor, Lancaster Combined Science tutor, Lancaster Entrance Exams tutor, Lancaster English (Foreign Language) tutor, Lancaster Primary Maths tutor, Lancaster Primary English tutor, Lancaster Primary Combined Science tutor, Lancaster Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Lancaster Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Lancaster Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Lancaster Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor