Skip to main content

Information About Polly - Barry tutor -

Profile Picture

Polly's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Polly:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Polly offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Polly

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher (PGCE Primary) with a First Class Psychology and Criminology degree. Upon graduating from my PGCE I won the award in my cohort for `Excellence in Professional Practice`. I have worked in the teaching sector for a number of years, in a variety of forms, and I am able to offer tutoring in a range of areas.

I am extremely passionate, reliable, conscientious and hard working and use these qualities to support students to reach their personal best.

I am currently available:
Monday 6.30pm - 8pm
Thursday 4pm-6pm
Friday 6.30pm - 8pm
Saturday mornings

I will soon be moving to Barry, where I will have a waiting room for parents who wish to wait while their child is having their tutoring session. I am currently only looking for tutees who are willing to travel to my house in the time slots available below. If anyone wants to get started before my move, I should be able to travel to the tutee`s house until that move takes place.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked in the teaching sector for a number of years, and have experience of working with individuals aged 4-18.
I am more than happy to tutor individuals older than this who are working towards the academic qualifications that I can cater for.

I have experience of working with children with hearing problems, speech and language difficulties, emotional and behavioural difficulties, dyscalculia, Asperger Syndrome as well as other learning difficulties. I also have a lot of experience with teaching children who do not have English as their first language.

Tutoring Approach:

I am experienced in getting to know each individual that I work with and thinking creatively about finding the best way to explore information to achieve academic success. My approach is very flexible depending on the needs of each tutee.
I am also trained in an approach called Philosophy for Children which can be used to boost thinking and critical analysis skills. It is also a great way to start a session and get the brain warmed up.
I aim to make tutoring fun, engaging, motivating, and to boost the self-esteem of tutees while working.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Cardiff Metropolitan University (2014) - PGCE Primary ('Excellent') (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (2010) - Psychology and Criminology (First Class) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Tiffin Girls' School (2006) - A-Levels in Psychology, Geography, Biology and Philosophy (All A's) (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Barry Maths tutor, Barry English tutor, Barry Special Needs tutor, Barry Primary Maths tutor, Barry Secondary Maths tutor, Barry GCSE Maths tutor, Barry Casual Learner Maths tutor, Barry Primary English tutor, Barry Primary Special Needs tutor, Barry Secondary Special Needs tutor