Skip to main content

Information About Phoebe - Newhaven tutor -

Profile Picture

Phoebe's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Phoebe:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Phoebe

Personal Description:

* 1/2 price for first lesson*

I am fully available for the remainder of the summer holidays, for any student who feels they want to start the new school year more confident with maths. Particularly useful for students just about to start their final GCSE year or younger students about to start secondary school. I would also be confident in helping any secondary school students who have recently moved from Scotland to help fill in any gaps due to the different curriculum's.

I am currently a teaching assistant in a secondary school having previously started but not completed teacher training in mathematics.
I have a first class undergraduate degree in maths and psychology, and a masters in psychology research with distinction.

I grew up in Scotland and having moved down to Sussex for teacher training I have had to become familiar with all the differences between the Scottish and English maths curriculum. I have done this by both personal study and completing a Subject Knowledge Enhancement course through the university.

Tutoring Experience:

I was a private maths tutor in Scotland for 4 years through university. I tutored around 30 students between the ages of 11 and 17 as well as mature students, and have helped take many of these students through their Scottish national exams. (If you read the reviews please note that National (Nat) 5 is the equivalent to GCSE, and Higher is the equivalent to AS-level.)

Over 4 months last year I was training as a maths teacher working in schools 4 days a week. I taught classes to pupils between Y7 and Y10 and observed many Y11 classes. I was also part of a group of fellow trainees to teach an AS-level lesson at a sixth form as well as assist in GCSE resit and A2-level classes.

Since leaving teacher training I have re-started my tutoring business. I have tutored a number of students for the new maths GCSE, both Year 11 students and Year 12 students doing resits. I have also tutored primary school pupils, as young as Year 2, who require extra tuition due to a variety of reasons including having students where English is their second language.

I have also tutored a few students with learning difficulties including dyslexia and autistic spectrum disorder.

I also have recent experience with the A-level curriculum and I am confident that I can help any A-level student that may be struggling

Tutoring Approach:

I get to know the student to figure out how they work best, either helping them fully understand how a formula works or helping them follow a step by step process to find the solution, or something in between. I will work with the student to find out where their weaknesses are and then help them gain confidence in these areas. I will also work with the pupil to help ensure they are not making common mistakes and help them find new ways to understand and remember the processes and formulae required to do well in maths.

If you have any questions please get in touch.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sussex (2017) - Subject Knowledge Enhancement (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of St Andrews (2016) - MRes Psychology: Distinction in the Dissertation (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Dundee (2015) - Bsc Mathematics and Psychology: 1st Class Honours (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Meldrum Academy (2011) - Highers in Accounting (A), English (C), Maths (A), Physics (A) and Psychology (B) (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Newhaven Maths tutor, Newhaven Primary Maths tutor, Newhaven Secondary Maths tutor, Newhaven GCSE Maths tutor, Newhaven A-Level Maths tutor, Newhaven University Maths tutor, Newhaven Casual Learner Maths tutor