Information About Philippa - Cheadle tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Philippa's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Philippa:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Philippa (Dr)


Personal Description:

My name's Philippa and I'm a graduate of the University of Sheffield where I studied History BA (First Class), MA (Distinction) and PhD. After my PhD I took a post-doctoral Research Associate post on a History project at the University of Cambridge and am a I currently an affiliated scholar of Cambridge University's Department of History and Philosophy of Science. I currently work for the education charity, Teach First, where I design education content and curriculum and tutor and mentor A-Level History students from low-income backgrounds who wish to access Russell Group universities, including Oxford and Cambridge.

I spent eight years studying at the University of Sheffield for my BA, MA and finally PhD in History. During this time I gained extensive teaching experience both as a seminar leader and a lecturer. I love teaching and would relish the opportunity to help out anyone who's in need of additional academic support, be it subject specific History/English tutoring or more general support in how best to approach academic study / construct essays / prepare for examinations etc. Outside of my academic role I volunteer on a weekly basis at a local charity for vulnerable young adults who are attempting to get back into work by gaining academic qualifications. I also work as a "Futures" tutor and mentor of History students as part of my current role at the education charity, Teach First. This is a role that I enjoy immensely and one that has given me extensive experience of working on a one-to-one basis with people with a broad range of academic abilities, from Key Stages 1, 2 and 3 through to A-Level.

Tutoring Experience:

I'm a qualified higher / further education teacher with considerable lecture, seminar and one-to-one tutoring experience gained over a four year period at the History Department at the University of Sheffield and HPS Department at the University of Cambridge. During this time I received exceptional feedback from students for my personable approach to learning and my corresponding ability to effectively communicate complex concepts in an accessible way. I also received extremely positive feedback for the advice I provided students with on how best to approach and successfully complete coursework and examinations. Indeed, as someone who has written and marked both coursework and examinations at higher education level I feel my skills and experience in this area are unrivaled. I also have experience of proof reading and would be happy to provide this service for any level of coursework / thesis.

I also have extensive experience of 1:1 and small group tutoring and mentoring of humanities and English students at GCSE, A-Level, degree and postgraduate level. I have received exceptional feedback from both the pupils and parents of pupils who I have tutored and have been commended for the impact that my support has had on pupils' achievements.

In terms of the sorts of history I 'do': I specialise in eighteenth and nineteenth-century British History but have studied and taught a broad range of historical periods and topics, from the Romans to the Victorians to the American West and history of medicine! While teaching associate at the University of Sheffield I also taught extensively on research skills courses and have a developed grasp of how best to approach and effectively deliver top quality coursework and examination performance. Thanks to my A-Level in English I also have a good grasp of how best to approach English coursework and examinations.

Tutoring Approach:

Having taught a broad range of students with varied skills sets it has become clear to me that the best approach to tutoring is a flexible one. I always take a personalised approach to learning, adapting my style and emphasis according to the needs of the individual in question. From my experience this (in conjunction with some hard graft and a laid back approach!), is key to achieving top level results. From the feedback I've received from students both at Sheffield University and via my voluntary work it seems learners most value my personable, relaxed and approachable attitude to learning.


  • University of Sheffield (2007) - PhD in History (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (2003) - Master's in History (passed with distinction) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (2000) - BA in History (first class) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cheadle English tutor, Cheadle History tutor, Cheadle Study Skills tutor, Cheadle Secondary English tutor, Cheadle GCSE English tutor, Cheadle A-Level English tutor, Cheadle Casual Learner English tutor, Cheadle Secondary History tutor, Cheadle GCSE History tutor, Cheadle A-Level History tutor, Cheadle University History tutor, Cheadle Casual Learner History tutor, Cheadle Secondary Study Skills tutor, Cheadle GCSE Study Skills tutor, Cheadle A-Level Study Skills tutor, Cheadle Casual Learner Study Skills tutor