Information About Philipp - Hammersmith tutor

Profile Picture

Philipp's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Philipp:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

Map Location

Map for Philipp (Mr)


Personal Description:

Hey, I'm Philipp and I'm currently studying for an MSci in Chemistry at Imperial College London. I was born in Germany and spent the first part of my school career there up to year 10 before I moved to a boarding school in Oxford to study for the IB. With Chemistry, Business and Management and English on Higher Level and German, Maths and Spanish on Standard Level I achieved an overall score of 43/45 points. In my free-time I love playing table-tennis and to play the drums, which enables me to find the perfect balance between work and personal development.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a native German, which enabled me to teach my mother tongue here in England over the past 4 years already. I started teaching German in a Saturday School to Pre-School and Primary School Kids in Oxford every week. This gave me the chance to understand how children in that age learn a language. I continued teaching German to my fellow students at the boarding school in weekly 1-to-1 sessions. With both experiences combined I am able to teach German to students at any age and level.

I also tutored Chemistry at my boarding school in 1-to-1 sessions, helping students with difficulties with the course to catch up with the material and explain topics which they did not understand. With my current chemistry studies at university it is possible for me to explain all the material up to Chemistry for IB Higher Level and give further and more detailed insight into topics which will facilitate the understanding of all the topics.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring will be the way that I found that most people learn the best. I believe that the basic concepts need to be understood, for which I can offer simple explanantions and pictures, on which I build up on to end up with the sophisticated theory which is correct and possible to understand. Also I believe that it is necessary to practice the newly learned content - so I would offer explanations for one part of the tutoring time and then I would be spending the rest of the time practicing the new material and also answering any questions that might have come up during the session or other content in school. Overall it would be a very friendly atmosphere on a student-to-student basis.


  • Imperial College London (2017) - MSci Chemistry (Masters) (in progress)
  • St. Clare's International College Oxford (2013) - International Baccalaureate (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: German
Additional Languages: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hammersmith Maths tutor, Hammersmith Chemistry tutor, Hammersmith German tutor, Hammersmith Primary Maths tutor, Hammersmith Secondary Maths tutor, Hammersmith GCSE Maths tutor, Hammersmith Primary Chemistry tutor, Hammersmith Secondary Chemistry tutor, Hammersmith GCSE Chemistry tutor, Hammersmith A-Level Chemistry tutor, Hammersmith Primary German tutor, Hammersmith Secondary German tutor, Hammersmith GCSE German tutor, Hammersmith A-Level German tutor