Skip to main content

Information About Peter - Broadford tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Peter (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

32 year old, married family man with young daughter. I consider myself a 'world citizen' and would like to help promote the unity of mankind by helping others to learn to speak English, a definite 'world language'. I have just returned from Malta where I taught English as a second language in classes of up to 12 students. I found this approach to teaching English maximised the profit of the schools which employed me while giving little attention to the effectiveness and quality of the teaching. I wanted to ensure higher quality learning and a more flexible approach, so after a year teaching at 2 different schools I set up a private 1:1 tuition service with my wife and I as tutors, this ran for 2 years until we had a baby and decided to return to the U.K. for health reasons.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 1:1 teaching experience with children from 6 to 15 years of age, adults from 18 year old university students to businessmen in their 40's and 50's. I have taught students from Russia, China, Italy, France and Germany, from Pre-Intermediate level upwards. I have also taught 6 week intensive I.E.L.T.S. 1:1.
While teaching classes at language schools in Malta, I gained experience teaching adult beginners and elementary students, until the school decided that my skills were best suited to teaching small groups of advanced students, which I continued for approximately a year. During my time in Malta I volunteered twice a week for two years at a refugee centre where I taught mixed ability classes of adult refugees and had a lot of fun!

Tutoring Approach:

I enjoy building a relationship with my students, discovering what interests they have and what English usage they actually need in their lives. I believe (and experience has shown me) that unless the student is interested in what they are doing and is likely to use what they are learning, they retain little and become demotivated to continue their study in the future. I try to make my tuition sessions as personalised as possible, using a multimedia approach, my own personally designed materials and an emphasis on the student taking ownership of their learning. I ensure that I cover all four skill areas, with an emphasis on speaking, so the student can practice what they learn and reading, so they can quickly learn new vocabulary and spelling in the future, without the need for a teacher!

Qualifications:

  • InLingua Language School (2009) - TEFL certificate (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Cardiff University (2001) - BSc Business Administration (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Skinners Grammar School (1998) - English Lit. A-Level: Grade A (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Broadford English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Broadford Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor