Skip to main content

Information About Pauline - Wishaw tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Pauline:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi, my name is Pauline and I currently work as a lecturer in a further education college. I love my job and am passionate about making my learner's experience in the classroom enjoyable. I always endeavour to build good relationships with my students based on trust and respect on a mutual basis as I feel this serves as a good grounding point for helping students to become successful learners. I love working with people and always try to bring a positive approach to teaching as I feel this helps learners to engage with me. I have two children who are now adults (25 and 22 years old) and have a grandchild on the way. I spend lots of time with my two dogs and my Godson who is 13 years of age.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching History, Sociology, Criminology, and Communications at all levels for the past ten years to students of various ages. I also teach Higher Sociology in a Highschool where most of my learners range from age 16-17. I have tutored at different levels over the years both in History and Sociology and really enjoy working with learners both in a group and a one to one basis.

Tutoring Approach:

When tutoring I usually go with a student centered approach whereby students can advise what they feel the key areas of focus should be. I like to begin with a discussion on key strengths as I feel this helps to build confidence in the student's own abilities and knowledge of the subject matter. I encourage students to question as well as listen and I bring an enthusiastic approach to tuition sessions as I feel learning should be fun! I usually work out a timetable of aspects to be covered with the students help to allow them to be active in their learning. This is very flexible as many students attend sessions with changing needs and requirements as per what they have studied in class that week. I do encourage hard work and commitment from both myself and the learner involving the integration of reading, activities, independent study and research where practical. I mark learner's work and provide positive and realistic feedback focusing on both strengths and key areas requiring improvement. I tutor all learners on an individual basis whereby I recognise that we are all different and approach our learning differently. On this basis, I continuously evaluate my learner's capabilities to ensure I provide sessions that meet their needs through continuous support and providing structured challenges where required. I feel my role is to reinforce what learners are covering in the classroom by discussing and clarifying subject material. This said, I also feel it is my overall duty to help my learners to become active, confident and overall successful students with a sound subject knowledge and the best chance at success in passing their exams.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Stirling University (2008) - Teaching qualification in further education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Glasgow Caledonian University (2002) - 2.1 BA Honours History and Sociology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Motherwell college (1999) - HND Social Sciences (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Motherwell college (1997) - NC Social Sciences (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wishaw History tutor, Wishaw Sociology tutor, Wishaw Primary History tutor, Wishaw Secondary History tutor, Wishaw GCSE History tutor, Wishaw A-Level History tutor, Wishaw Casual Learner History tutor, Wishaw Primary Sociology tutor, Wishaw Secondary Sociology tutor, Wishaw GCSE Sociology tutor, Wishaw A-Level Sociology tutor, Wishaw Casual Learner Sociology tutor