Private Maths Tutor in Pinner

I am a 57 year old fully qualified Math teacher with thirty years’ experience in education.

I studied O and A Levels at a boys Grammar School in Blackpool, Lancashire. I then studied Engineering at Liverpool and later obtained a PGCE in Mathematics at Keele University.

I have been a teacher for nearly 30 years teaching Mathematics, Engineering and Information Technology in a Further Education College (aged 16+) and privately on a 1-1 basis. I have taught Mathematics, Engineering & IT subjects to students on a wide range of courses from CPVE up to HND Level as well as currently tutoring GCSE and IGCSE Mathematics to local school children. Teaching on the National Diploma and GNVQ programmes means that I have experience not only of internal assessment but also of writing exam papers. At the last College I worked at I campaigned for the opening of a Mathematics workshop and as part of that I championed the used of IT in the delivery of Mathematics within the College. I currently frequently use IT when tutoring GCSE students.In addition to teaching I am also a technical author having published some fifty text books relating to Microsoft Office applications. I also purchased my own printing equipment and I published, printed and distributed my own learning materials. I also write e-learning resources, and have installed and administer my own Moodle VLE. I have also run distance learning courses in Microsoft Office. I recently developed an online course in 3D Printing in which I developed 70+ training videos on YouTube.

I was a member of the Academic Board Advisory Committee on Information Technology, a member of the Cross College Mathematics Committee and the College Working Party on Achieving Competence (work based training). My role in the competence working party was looking at modularisation, from a CAL perspective, of the Mathematics taught in the College.

Tutoring Experience

My first teaching post was with VSO (Voluntary Teaching Overseas) where I taught Maths and Science at a College on the Caribbean island of Montserrat. On returning to the UK I worked in a College in Willesden and Wembley for about fifteen years teaching on a wide range of courses. I have written and published over fifty workbooks for students. I have been teaching on a 1:1 basis for the last five years.

Tutoring Approach

Most of my students are getting ready for their GCSE or IGCSE Exams and as such my focus has always been on working through past papers to prepare students for the wide range of questions they may be asked.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Liverpool (Polytechnic) John Moores1983BachelorsBSc Hons 2.1
Keele Univeristy1985PGCEMaths & Computing

Paul's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Subjects taught